Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
noob needs advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28 Mar 2010, 03:36 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default noob needs advice

Hello all! Im a a big noob and i know that i dont know jack...so please dont flame me yet. My wifes 05 PT is now my car and i am not satisfied with its performance. I was wondering if it would be possible (cost effective) to do a swap with a GT version...or am i better (or cheaper) off by to aftermarket parts?
Is there a ECU reflash device available? How about stand alone ECU management kits? Anyone in california tuning PT's over 300whp?
Ive been spoiled by my last ride, a 2.5L AWD running at 16psi.

I Have an 05 PT manual, bone stock. I didnt see much when i searched.. is the srt4 a good part doner? What year am i looking for when i rumage through the junkyards?
Old 28 Mar 2010, 07:23 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: noob needs advice

Welcome to the forums.
You didn't say, but the PT is not a turbo? Not much you can do without throwing quite a bit of money at it.
Best bet would be to trade and get a used turbo PT.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 29 Mar 2010, 12:04 am
Fresh Cruiser