Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
My PT is sick

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 May 2010, 08:36 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default My PT is sick

My 04 turbo Ho has been giving me fits. It started as I first saw the temp gauge starting to climb and it got to 3/4 towards hot so I shut it off, it started making bubbling noises. I waited about 30 min and took off the cap and it was low, so I got a gallon of correct antifreeze. Topped it off and got a couple of blocks the gauge was rising again, this contuned till I got home ( about three miles and one and a half hours later). My friend ( a mechanic by trade) told me it was probably the thermostat, so I changed it and it was stuck closed. The car was ok for about a week, now every morning it is low some fluid and I top it off, I smell antifreeze when I turn the heat or defrosters on. But there is no fluid on the floor and it only leaks out the overflow when it fills up the bottle as it gets hot.
Anybody have any guesses?
Thanks in advance!
Old 17 May 2010, 08:53 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: My PT is sick

If you check the tech & Performance section you'll see that we get about 5 new posts a week on somebody overheating and there's twice that many reasons for the PT to overheat.

Since your in the Turbo section you have a variable speed fan unlike the non-turbo PT's that have two speeds. When yours start to overheat is the fan running on high speed? It should be making a lot of noise, you can't miss it. Are you bleeding all the air out of the system when you fill it up? The coolant system is a closed system (no air) so the boiling point is a lot higher than the normal 212 degrees. If you have air in the system, it lowers the boiling point.