Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Need Help deciding what PT to buy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Jun 2010, 06:15 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Need Help deciding what PT to buy

Hi everyone Im new to the PT forums. I currently own a 2004 neon R/T. I am deciding to trade it in on a PT. I have been searching to try to find answers to a few questions but not so much luck. First Im looking for a PT cruiser with the 2.4L turbo. I want power to play around with. Which PT should I look for and stay away from? Obv. a 5-speed GT would be the first choice but they are so rare to find. I found a 2004 platinum series Turbo a couple miles from my house. Mod wise how far would I be able to take this thing and how well will that 4speed auto hold up. Thanks
Old 09 Jun 2010, 06:48 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Need Help deciding what PT to buy

The engines in the "turbo lite" and the GT are identical - only programming sets them apart - if you get a Stage 1 CPU from dealer or used you will have the same as a GT on Stage 1.
The auto isn't THAT bad, be sure to have it flushed with ATF + 4, and do not "get on it" in 4th, have it kick down to 3rd befopre burying pedal.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 09 Jun 2010, 06:50 am
Fresh Cruiser

Ok thanks.
Old 09 Jun 2010, 07:23 am
Obsessed Cruiser

You don't say where you are, but here's a 5-speed GT:
PTCrew.com - Learn it or Burn it.
Old 09 Jun 2010, 11:47 pm
Fresh Cruiser