Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Running rough at idle only

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28 Nov 2010, 08:04 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Running rough at idle only

Okay searched the forum and nothing I've found fits what it's doing. To start I'm a diesel mechanic by trade and don't normally fool with anything that is smaller than an 8 liter. Car is a 2003 turbo PT. Came in for p0301 misfire code. Scoped the coil and found wire coming out of number one dead. Replaced coil and high speed misfire gone but rough run at idle still there.

Checked codes and data on scanner and then checked alignment on timing belt. No codes are present but there is 6 degrees difference on gear sync and one cam was off a tooth. Changed timing belt and reassembled. Timing is now dead spot on. Has high end power like never before but still running rough at idle.

One clue which I'm sure is important is the coil burn times. Coil one burn time at idle is between 650-800. Coil two burn time at idle is 1600-1800. If I bring the rpms up to 1200 or more coil burn time on coil one jumps up to what coil two shows. I'm sure the burn time numbers are pointing me somewhere but not too sure where.

We did pull the PCM out and open the cover to take a look. Everything looks okay but one little chip (best thing I can think to call it) appears burnt to me. The gel inside the PCM is very gooey which is in my experience usually a good sign the PCM is crap.

I've also scoped the signals coming to both sides of the coil and the signals going to the injectors. Injectors look okay even swapped injector one with injector two to see if that fixed the problem. No dice. I have also tried using my old propane vacuum leak detector with no surge in engine rpm found putting the tip all around the intake.