Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Premium gas?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Jan 2011, 02:03 pm
Regular Cruiser

Default Premium gas?

So Im new to owning a turbo. My pt is an 03 gt. So what exactly would happen if I didnt put premium gas in my pt? I am just wondering because prem. went up to 3.18 where I live.....lol.
Old 09 Jan 2011, 04:27 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: Premium gas?

This is just my opinion. If you don't have Stage I, you may be able to get by with 89 octane, but your mileage and performance may suffer. Here in Wisconsin, we're up to $3.30 for premium and mid-grade is about $3.20 or so. If you get 1 more mpg with premium, you'll spend more on gas for mid-grade than premium. Even if the difference in price allows you to save a few bucks, your Cruiser should benefit from the premium in the long run. I've pondered all the arguments for going "cheap," but the GT's engine is a high-performance engine that will best serve you when you run what the manufacture recommends.
Old 09 Jan 2011, 06:19 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

You should be hearing from some of the GT owners about now. You knew the Turbo took premium fuel when you bought it and if you didn't think gas prices weren't going to go up, I have a cheap bridge to sell you.

If a $1 more per fill up for premium is gonna break you, better sell the car now because it's only going to get worse. That you can take to the bank (if you have anything left).

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Old 09 Jan 2011, 06:23 pm
Dedicated Cruiser

I would say the extra $2 per tank is worth knowing your car is getting what Chrysler recommends.
Old 09 Jan 2011, 07:44 pm
Young Cruiser