PT Cruiser Forum  

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Spark plug gap.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Mar 2011, 09:51 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Spark plug gap.

Just recently purchased 2005 GT Turbo. I am upgrading ignition wires and have more or less decided on champion copper plugs but I have seen many posts with plug gaps that are less than the 50 the manual calls for. Could someone explain the purpose of say a .40 gap and what is best for the Turbo. I would appreciate any information. I'm new to this.
Old 31 Mar 2011, 09:40 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Spark plug gap.

The .040 gap was a TSB put out by Chrysler for the Non-Turbo vehicles. Not exactly sure why but I think the gap at .050 was OK from the beginning but as the plugs wore, that gap opened up so much that it was causing problems. Starting at .040 the plugs would last longer.

From what I found out in a search, the Turbo runs well with copper plugs gapped at .035
MY technical suggestions are given in GOOD FAITH without total guarantee, if in doubt go to a garage.
Visit My Home Page www.CREWZIN.com
Old 31 Mar 2011, 12:06 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Thanks for the info. There was a lot on plugs wires etc... but for us newbies not too much information on why certain plugs, wires are better. I do realize that there are a lot of different opinions also. I appreciate your explanation.
Now my next question is what simple modifications will help performance or just be better for the car? Example air cleaners, exhaust etc.. Again thanks in advance.
Old 31 Mar 2011, 12:47 pm
Fanatic Cruiser