PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Stage 1 PCM

 
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By TewPointFourTeeLite
  • 1 Post By NitroPT
  • 1 Post By sykedtuner

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 01:14 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Default Stage 1 PCM

Hello all,

First post, good to meet everyone! I own two pt's, and 05 base model and an 04 limited turbo lite. We are putting a new turbo on it today because the bearing took a dump on me and it's time for a new one. No big deal, but now I'm looking for a stage 1 Mopar ecm to maximize the power out of the motor.

Does anyone here know of a place that still sells them?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 01:20 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

I see that jet offers a stage one for Mopar vehicles, but is the jet system equivalent to the Mopar stage 1?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 01:58 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,636
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

The naming of parts STAGE 1,2,3 is a retail advertising ploy for the most part. You example shows what I have posted before comparing a STAGE1 Chrysler engineered designed part to an aftermarket company that uses the descriptive term STAG to sell their product.

They are not the as far as chosen calibrations are concerned and the aftermarket companies do not have the capacity yet to change automatic programming calibration.


Beware of terms like "up to" in regards to claims of performance levels achievable with any products.

I would be very cautious of used STAGE 1 PCM offered privately. The sellers have no real way to verify the firmware and you could get stuck with a PCM lemon.

In the last year my current recommendation for those that can is to get a DioblowSport Tuning device. It just makes more sense for cost and the available calibration options and Data logging and viewing capabilities.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 02:24 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
The naming of parts STAGE 1,2,3 is a retail advertising ploy for the most part. You example shows what I have posted before comparing a STAGE1 Chrysler engineered designed part to an aftermarket company that uses the descriptive term STAG to sell their product.

They are not the as far as chosen calibrations are concerned and the aftermarket companies do not have the capacity yet to change automatic programming calibration.


Beware of terms like "up to" in regards to claims of performance levels achievable with any products.

I would be very cautious of used STAGE 1 PCM offered privately. The sellers have no real way to verify the firmware and you could get stuck with a PCM lemon.

In the last year my current recommendation for those that can is to get a DioblowSport Tuning device. It just makes more sense for cost and the available calibration options and Data logging and viewing capabilities.


Alright, so what about the Syked tuning ECU's.

Basically what I'm trying to do is get this car from 180hp to 240. Would it be safe to put the stage 2 from syked on this car?
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 03:51 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,636
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

Adding Perfromance PT CRUISER parts
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 05:55 pm
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10,263
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TewPointFourTeeLite View Post
Alright, so what about the Syked tuning ECU's.

Basically what I'm trying to do is get this car from 180hp to 240. Would it be safe to put the stage 2 from syked on this car?
That Stage 1 that's for sale today on the forum is perfect for your 2004 turbo lite. All you would need to do is get the VIN number flashed. And this baby will get you somewhere near 230 hp. You can't beat that with a stick.

Better grab it before it's gone.

FS: Stage 1 PCM ATX
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2015, 07:28 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handy_Cruiser View Post
All you would need to do is get the VIN number flashed.

Explain. Sorry for the ignorance, but I know nothing about these things.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10 Mar 2015, 12:19 am
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,636
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

You have to marry the PCM to your specific PT Cruiser. Your VIN number is generally needed. This is an additional cost ranging from 75-150. Another consideration when buying a used STAGE 1 from a private party.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2015, 03:01 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Puyallup, Wa
Posts: 35
Default Re: Stage 1 PCM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
You have to marry the PCM to your specific PT Cruiser. Your VIN number is generally needed. This is an additional cost ranging from 75-150. Another consideration when buying a used STAGE 1 from a private party.


We offer vin flashing for $40 + return Shipping. You can get further details here Syked Ecu Tuning Vin Flashes
myckee likes this.
__________________
Please Like us on Facebook!!!
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Syked...59744960844510
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are there any step by step instructions for mopar stage 2 wastegate and or dual stage dmkolb Turbo Performance 7 04 Aug 2010 03:44 pm
03 Stage 1, Stage 2 wga, plastic intake BoostJunkie Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 13 07 Jul 2009 01:52 am
STAGE 1 For Sale,Two New Stage 1 Badge Plates Lee515 Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 3 16 Jan 2009 02:49 pm
Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2? oldfashionedgent Stage Turbo Kits 25 21 Jul 2008 05:21 pm
Stage 1 with dual stage boost and wastegate dmkolb Stage Turbo Kits 11 25 Apr 2008 08:55 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors