PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Stage 1 or not?

 
Like Tree14Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 31 May 2015, 01:33 pm
Busted_PT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beckley, W.V.
Posts: 13,904
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
No I appreciate the comments from you Danny and let explain a little better. I just no longer want to advise PT owners at least on a forum any longer having to do with PCM calibrating. There are only so many arguments I can handle at one time. It would be different if I had other Calibrators (at least 1) that we could swap idea's,files and collected DATA,DATA LOGGING, info but that is not the case on this and other PT forums.

Tom and I have talked many times by phone. IMHO (Tommy you know I lov ya..LOL)he went to to many doctors for help and suggestions that did not result in the cures for the aliments, so to say.

Danny I am calling ya right now....LOL
Well I understand. That certainly blocks and confuse information when this happens. But sad that we won't get to see personal experience information come to light because of read expertize.
__________________

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 31 May 2015, 07:04 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hampstead, NC.
Posts: 308
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilverdon View Post
I assume you care about mileage because of cost? That's funny because a turbo lite runs fine on regular, while a Stage 1 requires premium fuel which costs quite a bit more...
Matter of fact I am not concerned because of gas costs. I pull a trailer with my pt and think the stage 1 will give me better power on hills and in the mountains. I don't mind premium fuel costs.
__________________
2008 Sunset Boulevard
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jun 2015, 09:37 am
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hampstead, NC.
Posts: 308
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Thanks to all. Shipped it out to Syked this morning. Appreciate the referral
__________________
2008 Sunset Boulevard
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jun 2015, 10:31 am
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10,784
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttomes View Post
Thanks to all. Shipped it out to Syked this morning. Appreciate the referral
Tell Kevin Sykes he owes me and Mike each $10 for the advertising.
sykedtuner likes this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jun 2015, 01:41 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,119
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handy_Cruiser View Post
Tell Kevin Sykes he owes me and Mike each $10 for the advertising.
ya maybe he will give you a "gurgle" or is that "burble" for your PT?

PT Cruiser with "gurgle" or "burble"?!
sykedtuner likes this.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jun 2015, 02:35 pm
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10,784
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
ya maybe he will give you a "gurgle" or is that "burble" for your PT?

PT Cruiser with "gurgle" or "burble"?!
I would be more excited about using my DST if Sykes had a really good "canned" tune for it with or without the gurgle. For someone like me with no access to professional tuning, using the DST with a downloaded tune like that might be very beneficial. And Lynn, you ought to consider coming up with some canned tunes like that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jun 2015, 03:43 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,119
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handy_Cruiser View Post
I would be more excited about using my DST if Sykes had a really good "canned" tune for it with or without the gurgle. For someone like me with no access to professional tuning, using the DST with a downloaded tune like that might be very beneficial. And Lynn, you ought to consider coming up with some canned tunes like that.
Thank you for the thought.
I have several files now that work VERY, VERY VERY well.

I would never give them out without the end user providing a simple DATA LOG of specific area's such as AFR,timing,fuel and maybe a couple few others. Every PT or vehicle is different. That is basically why "canned" tune only give little for safety and more liability reason from the manufacture.

"LEAN IS MEAN" as they say but it can melt an engine down in seconds if not done correctly.

When Keven gets a few sales of the hand held tuning aid for the second Gen CANbus PT's than he will work on the 1st GEN OBDII.

Then I may offer help on what to change to increase MPG,Power via PCM Boost control,fan operating adjustments for RPM and Temperature etc. and lots more. It is not that you can its about knowing what you are knowing when you can get into the PCM
sykedtuner likes this.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2015, 01:54 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hampstead, NC.
Posts: 308
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

So I got the computer back from Syked. Now when I install it do I need to do the transmission learn proceedure or would it just be plug and play because it's my vin number?
__________________
2008 Sunset Boulevard
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2015, 03:24 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 16,119
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttomes View Post
So I got the computer back from Syked. Now when I install it do I need to do the transmission learn proceedure or would it just be plug and play because it's my vin number?
You should ask Keven who you purchased the PCM calibrated from to be sure.

But normally the they no longer need anything except as a plug-n-play
sykedtuner likes this.
__________________
To view larger pictures simply "click " on the picture!

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN

Last edited by NitroPT; 11 Jun 2015 at 06:29 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2015, 05:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Puyallup, Wa
Posts: 35
Default Re: Stage 1 or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
You should ask Keven who your got the PCM calibrated from to be sure.

But normally the they no longer need anything except as a plug-n-play
Ecu is plug n play but i would disconnect negative battery to reset some of the adaptives in the ecu. It wont clear all of them but some of them.
Handy_Cruiser and Chickn like this.
__________________
Please Like us on Facebook!!!
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Syked...59744960844510
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are there any step by step instructions for mopar stage 2 wastegate and or dual stage dmkolb Turbo Performance 7 04 Aug 2010 03:44 pm
03 Stage 1, Stage 2 wga, plastic intake BoostJunkie Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 13 07 Jul 2009 01:52 am
STAGE 1 For Sale,Two New Stage 1 Badge Plates Lee515 Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 3 16 Jan 2009 02:49 pm
Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2? oldfashionedgent Stage Turbo Kits 25 21 Jul 2008 05:21 pm
Stage 1 with dual stage boost and wastegate dmkolb Stage Turbo Kits 11 25 Apr 2008 08:55 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors