PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Map sensor question

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2015, 02:18 pm
madscientistdohc's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Map sensor question

just got my final tune form my tuner and im running a stock nsrt4 map sensor and i am getting a p0129 code, do i need to upgrade to a 3 bar map form modern performance? i hooked up my matco scan tool and i am reading 15.3 PSI of pressure at the map. Stock map can only handle 14.5 psi... i just have lots of money invested in my build and making sure. The tuner is busy and i didn't wana bother him.
__________________
- Mad Scientist DOHC
------------------------
Custom Automotive Wiring - Turbo Rebuilds/Upgrades
ECU Flashing - Motor Swaps - Automotive Diagnostics
------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2015, 03:08 pm
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: darien il
Posts: 4,592
Default Re: Map sensor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by madscientistdohc View Post
just got my final tune form my tuner and im running a stock nsrt4 map sensor and i am getting a p0129 code, do i need to upgrade to a 3 bar map form modern performance? i hooked up my matco scan tool and i am reading 15.3 PSI of pressure at the map. Stock map can only handle 14.5 psi... i just have lots of money invested in my build and making sure. The tuner is busy and i didn't wana bother him.
modern performance 3 bar description says "Have below 20 psi, and have a stock factory turbo on your 03-05 SRT4? DO NOT READ FURTHER AS THIS PRODUCT WILL NOT BE BENEFICIAL TO YOU."

i would ask my tuner and if they don't know i think i'd find a smarter tuner. THEY would be the one to ask since THEY tuned it, no? did they know you'd be over the sensors limit?
i would ASSume they could come up with something like MAF scaling, but for a MAP application? for a MAF they have a voltage reducer, basically a resistor triangle that makes the MAF read a proportionally lower voltage, effectively keeping the sensor from pegging max voltage. the recalibrated voltage is accounted for accurately via the tune all is well.

for example, i'm making one of these for my ford to tune with my moates quarterhorse D.I.Y. MAF extender/ xtender - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

like scale the stock sensors reading by 90% with resistors, and then account for it with software so it can read 10% higher. you know what i mean? 10% would cover that extra 0.8LB of boost and should only cost you a few for the resistors.

Last edited by rob342; 11 Jun 2015 at 04:32 pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cam sensor P0340 code question MOTORCITYBADBOY Tech & Performance Forum 4 19 May 2014 04:12 pm
crankshaft position sensor veses knock sensor BeagleDad Tech & Performance Forum 6 13 Feb 2012 06:10 pm
Probably a dumb O2 sensor question... Skye Tech & Performance Forum 2 11 Mar 2009 07:43 pm
Map Sensor Question thunda1216 Turbo Performance 7 09 Mar 2009 01:01 pm
o2 sensor question steve smith General Turbo Discussions 6 15 Mar 2005 02:16 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors