PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2.4 Turbo Spark Plug Tube Seals

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01 Aug 2015, 07:39 am
Veteran Cruiser

Default 2.4 Turbo Spark Plug Tube Seals

Okay Guys, as a newbie here, I'm sure you've all heard this question before, but I'm going to ask again. Do I need to remove the valve cover from my 03 GT in order to replace the spark plug tube seals? If so, does the intake need to come off too? I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty as I've been pulling my own wrenches for over 40 years. I just need a litte guidance and any suggestions for making the job go as smoothly as possible. I have had two brain surgeries and have bad discs in my low back, along with a cyst in my middle to upper spine. I have trouble bending for very long and suffer severe headaches if I lean over too much too. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I pulled #1 spark plug in order to replace the plugs and wires today and the plug was covered in oil, on the outside. I'm guessing this MAY have something to do with the slight miss I am experiencing. Thanks for the help.
Old 01 Aug 2015, 07:53 am
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Re: 2.4 Turbo Spark Plug Tube Seals

Smelled oil burning on my 04 , opened the hood , no smoke but when i pulled the plug wires also covered in oil to the top of the plug , going to change the valve cover gaskets and seals today , you DO need to take off the manifold { just pull it up and tie it to the hood latch out of the way } just by looking at it this morning after coffee , doesnt seem like that big a job , but basically everything over the valve cover needs to come off , im thinking maybe even the power steering res. too ,
Old 01 Aug 2015, 08:36 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuzz View Post