PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
How can you tell if you have a modified ECM

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Mar 2018, 01:52 am
Young Cruiser

Default How can you tell if you have a modified ECM

I recently purchased a PT Turbo Lite but it seems as if it may have more power than a turbo lite would have. The person I bought it from was not the original owner. Is there any way to tell if the ECM was changed over to a GT ECM or something other than stock? I am no expert but it seems like it has more than 180 HP. Any ideas?
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Old 18 Mar 2018, 10:01 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: How can you tell if you have a modified ECM

A factory GT PCM or Stage 1 PCM for auto tranny will work perfectly in most PT turbo lites. To tell what PCM you have, you need to get the part number off the side sticker. The part number on the front of the PCM is just the hardware number. The part number for the "tune" will be on the side. Once you get that number, you can just Google it to see what you have.

Another way to do this is the use a OBDII scanner that will give you the "program", "calibration" or "flash" number. A Diablosport tuner will do this as well. If you Google the number in the image below you will find it's for a Turbo Lite.

While this may work for a factory PCM or one flashed with a Stage 1 tune, neither of these methods may work if your PCM has a custom tune. In that case, it may have any part number on the sticker and may show any number read by a scanner. The best way to detect one of these is boost level with a boost gauge.

Here's what a 2nd Gen stock Turbo Lite will boost:

A GT and Mopar Stage 1 PCM will boost upwards of 12 psi. And a custom performance PCM, like mine, may boost even more. My PT boosts around 15 psi.

Beyond this, forum member Myckee has extensive lists of PCM part numbers and tunes. He can likely tell you what's what on any PT PCM.

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 18 Mar 2018 at 10:06 am.