PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Interior Accessories Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Oil Pressure Gauge Install

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 12:39 pm
meder2487's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 130
Default Oil Pressure Gauge Install

I have been attempting to find some help as far as installing an oil pressure gauge in my Turbo PT. A few of the threads on here do not seem to have photos on them or at least they are not working anymore to see how to go about it.
I was looking to attach the sender unit to one of the plugs in the top of the block (behind air box). Has anyone who has added an OP gauge before used these holes or is there a better way to do it? I do not want to use a sandwich adapter.
Pics would be great if anyone has some.
__________________
Don't Blink
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 12:49 pm
UptownSport's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 55403
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

I'd really suggest not doing it-
The less complication o n the oil system, the better.
I can't tell you how many engines have been destroyed because a sender,
line, remote (oil filter, cooler, etc.) have leaked, emptying crankcase in
moments.

more; the PT engine is very reliable- oil system is simple.
The gauge sender makes it less reliable.
I can't tell you how many I've replaced.
Oil loss is infrequent, check it and don't rev the engine to 6k when it's freshly
started at minus 20f.

The PT isn't any different than any other engine, if you do add one, use
top quality sender, fitting and 'T' it off.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 12:52 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 543
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

Sorry, haven't gone that route. Are you going with more gauges? The three most important on a turbo car are the EGT gauge (exhaust gas temp), a boost gauge and an air/fuel gauge.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 12:55 pm
meder2487's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

I initially was going to just put in the Boost gauge, which I still am, but I got a great deal on a matching OP and Boost gauge. So I have a 2 pod pillar. The boost is easy but I wasn't sure about OP. I might just install the OP and have it not functional. I definitely do not want to hurt my engine in any way.
__________________
Don't Blink
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 01:33 pm
Kawizx9r's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

Leave the OP out.

Pillar pod you say? So I bet it's a 2 1/16" gauge. Perfect place to install a wideband.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Kawi is a friggin genius!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 01:39 pm
meder2487's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

Yes sir, (2) 2 1/16" gauge slots. I am not sure I really understand the whole wide band thing though....
__________________
Don't Blink
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 01:42 pm
Kawizx9r's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

Don't ever mistake it for a narrowband.

Check out AEM Digital and/or Analog wideband or Innovative's LC1 wideband.

It monitors your air/fuel ratios, which are important for when you tune your vehicle for WOT. You don't want to run too lean or too rich. Too rich, and you're literally just throwing fuel away and suffering in terms of performance. Too lean and your engine will pop
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Kawi is a friggin genius!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 01:47 pm
UptownSport's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 55403
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

You can use a voltmeter on the JAW or LC-1. Dunno why the gauge (per se)
is so expensive.

If you have MS, it will also read the JAW or LC-1 or ...
IF everything's stock, and working ... Not a necessity
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2011, 02:23 pm
meder2487's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 130
Default Re: Oil Pressure Gauge Install

I am running stock and well now. Especially with the weather breaking soon, I am looking forward to having some fun with my PT. I do not really plan on doing any tuning, but those are always the famous last words.
__________________
Don't Blink
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install - Oil Pressure Sensor geronimo Tech & Performance Forum 27 02 Feb 2015 04:31 pm
TURBO Boost/ Vacuum Gauge, EGT and Oil Pressure 2003DC2 Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 0 19 Feb 2010 09:48 pm
oil pressure gauge GTPT Turbo Performance 6 30 Sep 2003 06:03 pm
Fuel pressure gauge PT GT Turbo Performance 1 14 Jun 2003 09:15 pm
Trans temp & Oil pressure gauge OurPTGT Turbo Performance 1 17 May 2003 02:39 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors