Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > PT Cruiser Convertible Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
touring versus gts pros and cons

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Jun 2011, 07:47 pm
Young Cruiser

Default touring versus gts pros and cons

I'm new to this pt thing. I thought I would get my feet wet with a touring pt. Finding out if I would like the little car. I know woundering what is the better of the two cars. I here gts get bad mpg. Is that true? PLEASE TELL ME pro and cons what you think xtreme cindy
Old 13 Jun 2011, 08:01 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: touring versus gts pros and cons

All PT's get bad mileage, the reason the GT's seem to get worse is people like me who drive them like they were stolen! However, with custom tunes you can do all sorts of things with both the touring and the gt models. The turbo lite, which is just a detuned gt, can be upfitted to the same level as the gt, but takes quite a bit of work. Both models are well done, imo. The touring model was made just for that, touring, while the gt was their attempt at a performance model.

Both are bodacious little cars. Part of the mileage problems is the weight, all of them are heavy especially the verts. The vert GT is the heaviest of all of them. That, to me, is a darned good thing as these cars tend to hold up very well in an accident and they are quite stable on the road.
Old 13 Jun 2011, 08:07 pm
Dedicated Cruiser

Thanks Chromenut...Couldn't have said it better
Old 13 Jun 2011, 10:07 pm
Fanatic Cruiser