PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Where to run amp power wire?

 
Like Tree9Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 09:16 pm
2007's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the Middle
Posts: 178
Default Where to run amp power wire?

I have 2 runs of 1/0 to run. What route did ya'll take for your big wire? I haven't looked at it yet, but I'll take some tips n tricks before I start.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 09:25 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,744
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

Where are you trying to run the wires? From where to where?

If you need to go through the firewall, follow the cable that opens the hood. It goes through a black grommet and there's enough room to run a few wires through the same hole. In the picture below, it's the hole that has my blue cable from my AMP from inside the car to the engine compartment.

alex1378 and belkster74 like this.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 09:37 pm
2007's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the Middle
Posts: 178
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

I need to run from the battery to the back hatch area to a couple amps. What size is the blue wire in your pic? The 1/0 is about the diameter of nickel, and I'll need two of them.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 09:50 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,744
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

The blue wire is nowhere near the size you need. Two size of a nickel holes? Not sure where you'll find a place for that size. The hole that's not through the firewall under where my AMP wire is, is for a clutch pedal. You can probably use that space for one of those wires and maybe another hole right near that area.
belkster74 likes this.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07 Sep 2010, 11:24 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 39
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

I drilled a hole through the plastic piece that you see in the fire wall below where Crewzin ran his wire. You could fit one wire through there. The other may have to be ran around a seal, such as the one in the top right area of your engine compartment. Both of those holes will lead straight out under the dash by the steering column.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04 Nov 2010, 06:19 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 414
Send a message via Yahoo to partyd
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

0 gauge wire is to big to go inside and it will look ugly under the carpet unless you get the flat 0 gauge i use 4 gauge and it was ok 2 and it was a big problem so i pull it all out and run it under the car outside next to the chassis all in the left side all the way to the back then i drill to holes and run the power cable into the trunk and also run a 4 gauge ground from under the vehicle chasis

i will post pictures but i sold that car 3 weeks ago
good luck
__________________
2008 Pt cruiser Touring
2004 Pt Cruiser GT
2004 Chrysler 300M
2008 Chrysler Pacifica awd
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12 Feb 2015, 11:16 am
CruiserOhioMike's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 10
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by partyd View Post
0 gauge wire is to big to go inside and it will look ugly under the carpet unless you get the flat 0 gauge i use 4 gauge and it was OK 2 and it was a big problem so i pull it all out and run it under the car outside next to the chassis all in the left side all the way to the back then i drill to holes and run the power cable into the trunk and also run a 4 gauge ground from under the vehicle chassis

i will post pictures but i sold that car 3 weeks ago
good luck

Just my two cents here friend (hopefully I don't come off as a jerk, but), never EVER run power wire under the car like that, it's extremely dangerous, if something kicks up and takes off some of the rubber jacket around the wire, you will have bare power wire rubbing up against your chassis and can catch your car on fire. Any wire ran under the car like that is exposed to bumps, rain, snow, trash kicking up, rocks. It can destroy your car, and even kill you. I know that sounds like over reaction, but it's not, I've seen it happen more than once
belkster74 and kudah440 like this.
__________________
I might be new, but I will learn fast
Be who you are, not who you wish to be - (wishes don't all come true for a reason)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12 Feb 2015, 11:44 am
quicksilverdon's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Felton, Delaware
Posts: 20,501
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CruiserOhioMike View Post
Just my two cents here friend (hopefully I don't come off as a jerk, but), never EVER run power wire under the car like that, it's extremely dangerous, if something kicks up and takes off some of the rubber jacket around the wire, you will have bare power wire rubbing up against your chassis and can catch your car on fire. Any wire ran under the car like that is exposed to bumps, rain, snow, trash kicking up, rocks. It can destroy your car, and even kill you. I know that sounds like over reaction, but it's not, I've seen it happen more than once
If you put a fuse in, ought not to be a problem.
__________________
"Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life,
nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
Isaac Asimov"

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12 Feb 2015, 12:29 pm
thehoghunter's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 370
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

If you have a time machine, you can travel back to 2010 and let him know...
__________________

2005 N/A 5 speed manual - Booger bushings, K&N Filter, MSD spark plug wires, APC Taillights, Accra-Form Running Boards, Hubcap Mike's Spoke Hubcaps, Retrosound radio (usb1-2/aux1-2/bluetooth), Chrysler 1949 Hood Ornament, and a Flameball white pearl shift knob (which makes it go faster).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12 Feb 2015, 07:31 pm
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: darien il
Posts: 4,592
Default Re: Where to run amp power wire?

just helping the legend live on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busa_Powered View Post
Holy thread revival batman!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 PT Cruiser no power to power seat paradyne64 General PT Cruiser Discussions 5 29 Dec 2016 02:54 am
wire help? careyk General PT Cruiser Discussions 7 01 Nov 2011 09:14 am
Ground wire elmeyer Tech & Performance Forum 2 01 Nov 2009 08:40 pm
extra wire? brightlight07 Sound and Security Forum 6 31 Oct 2008 11:06 pm
How do i get power to and wire neons from fuse box CruiserDan General PT Cruiser Discussions 14 23 Feb 2004 09:05 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors