PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
where to ground amp

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26 Jan 2011, 12:57 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northumberland PA
Posts: 261
Default where to ground amp

alright so i put my amp in my pt last summer and its worked all the time. now that it snows and when my car gets wet it seems like it wont turn on. so where have you grounded anything on your pt. i need to find a new spot. im think to run two ground to the amp to see what will happen. please help. nothings working. and ive checked all my other wires. everything i have ran to a ground bolt in the car wont work when its wet!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26 Jan 2011, 01:57 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northumberland PA
Posts: 261
Default Re: where to ground amp

it only seem to not wanna work when it snows! nothing at all. and the fuses are good and the amp does work! i have a gauge pod too with voltage gauge and that wont even work. everything works when its nice out but not in the snow!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27 Jan 2011, 07:30 pm
WolfmanG's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 4,495
Send a message via Yahoo to WolfmanG
Default Re: where to ground amp

dude you know what. when i was looking for something i dropped under the driver seat i noticed that there was a hole there where a screw can go in. so you might be able to use that to ground the amp, that's if your model has that hole. idk.
__________________
-Danny Wolfman G
http://www.facebook.com/WolfmanG
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27 Jan 2011, 08:32 pm
03GTCruiser's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 4,863
Default Re: where to ground amp

I grounded mine under the plastic trim along the back of hatch (where the bolt for spare tire cage is) and had no problem with Florida rainy season.
__________________
Sold 2003 Pt Cruiser GT Autostick. Sold
Now a slow 2009 Pontiac vibe 2.4l 5-speed.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=9656&dateline=1247691  818

227 HP and 281 TQ

new best of 14.56 1/4 mile on 7/25/12 still using the canned tune from my diablosport predator.

*Stage 1, DSP w/93 canned tune, 3" o2 housing, 3" FWDPerformance downpipe with cutout. Bwoody solid mounts. AMX1397 TTAB with K&n drop in filter and airbox mod. AMX1397 lower pipe and AMX1397 uppipe with HKS BOV
* stock nsrt rims powdercoated black, chrome pillars.
* 3 gauge pod w/ aem wideband, Autometer ultralite oil pressure and 30/30 boost, Mopar 8" sub.*


Last edited by 03GTCruiser; 27 Jan 2011 at 08:35 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22 Aug 2011, 02:32 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Eatonton, Georgia
Posts: 116
Send a message via Yahoo to Jtwheels2007
Default Re: where to ground amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfmanG View Post
dude you know what. when i was looking for something i dropped under the driver seat i noticed that there was a hole there where a screw can go in. so you might be able to use that to ground the amp, that's if your model has that hole. idk.
MY 05 TOURING HAS THAT HOLE....threads and all. can you tell me what size screw fits it. I was planning on putting my amp under the seat, and grounding there. can any1 help?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29 Aug 2011, 03:14 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 394
Default Re: where to ground amp

I brought out 2 4 gauge into a swaged ring connector. One goes to a body hole on the inside of the emerg jack that I drilled and tapped, I also brought over the +12V ground from the cig lighter back there. Another goes under the trim panel where the hatch latches, I understand this one is pretty close to the chassis.

I also brought a 0 gauge from negative post on the batt - 6 inches over to a new hole+ stud on the body, and another 0 gauge from that point to the motor. I haven't done a direct from negative post to the chassis yet but thats coming soon. Gonna go straight down into a tack welded stud on the frame.

0 gauge goes from that same body spot by the battery, through the grommeted hole near the service brake, back along the driver side trim, into the hatch area and right to a distro block. This breaks out into the aforementioned 2 4 gauge going to the body and chassis. My amps run off that same distro block for negative.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground effects careyk Classifieds: Want To Buy 3 05 Feb 2008 02:05 pm
N/A Hyper ground KingKole02 Tech & Performance Forum 12 20 Jul 2005 08:23 am
where to ground my amp CruiserDan Sound and Security Forum 6 17 Dec 2004 03:43 pm
Ground strap mcruz General PT Cruiser Discussions 8 26 Dec 2003 09:36 pm
GROUND EFFECTS PTCRUZIN Exterior Accessories Forum 2 05 Apr 2002 04:14 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors