PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
stereo problem

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 12:31 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 6
Default stereo problem

I'm new to the forum, haven't really posted anything, even though I've found a wealth of great info here. (I'm a lurker
I have an '06 convertible touring, bone stock, with 78000 miles and I have a problem with my stock stereo.

Had to replace the battery the other day, and ever since, I can't get the cd changer to work. It won't play when I hit the mode button, and can't load or eject either. The radio works fine. I didn't even have to reset my stations after the battery change.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Frag
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 12:41 am
Kawizx9r's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: stereo problem

I'd take a shot at this but I've got a question for you;

Is this CD changer an external component or is it built into the headunit? Reminds me of my last Toyota. Had an in-dash 6 disk changer and I had this same problem once. It acted as if no CD's were in the changer, hell it acted like there wasn't a changer at all. Disconnected the radio harness for a day to completely reset it and the next day after plugging it in, it worked fine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Kawi is a friggin genius!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 12:49 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 6
Default Re: stereo problem

It's built into the head unit. All one assembly in dash.

I'll try disconnecting the harness when I get home in the morning and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 12:51 am
Kawizx9r's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: stereo problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frag View Post
It's built into the head unit. All one assembly in dash.

I'll try disconnecting the harness when I get home in the morning and see if that helps.
I only mentioned the above solution because 1. it worked for me and 2. you mentioned that your stations were retained.

You'll know when it's completely drained/reset when you hook it up and your stations are back to 87.5 or whatever it is.

Before doing anything else though, is there some type of RESET or something on that radio? I'm only familiar with the stock '03 CD player for our cars.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Kawi is a friggin genius!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 01:01 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 6
Default Re: stereo problem

I don't know of a reset, but I have heard that some stereos have them as a theft deterrent. I was hoping someone on the forum could tell me if there is a reset.

ps: I dig those wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 01:06 am
Kawizx9r's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 1,575
Default Re: stereo problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frag View Post
I don't know of a reset, but I have heard that some stereos have them as a theft deterrent. I was hoping someone on the forum could tell me if there is a reset.

ps: I dig those wheels.
Some do and some don't, maybe a google/forum search can answer that (hopefully).

And thanks, though I wish my car was black. I'll get it painted, but not until I'm completely done modifying it first.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromenut View Post
Kawi is a friggin genius!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29 Mar 2011, 03:00 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 6
Default Re: stereo problem

Well, I checked every fuse I could find and they're all good. I disconnected the battery for a couple hours- No Joy. I did notice that I can here the the changer moving when I first get in, but still can't get it to play.

HELP?!?!?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new stereo 2006ptman Sound and Security Forum 5 23 Feb 2011 08:29 pm
stereo 1BadPTCruiser Interior Accessories Forum 0 11 Jul 2010 04:12 pm
OEM Stereo jimkaren Sound and Security Forum 2 09 Dec 2009 08:04 am
Need help in what else to get for stereo... Roccopt Interior Accessories Forum 1 02 Dec 2009 01:32 am
help with raq stereo del97td Sound and Security Forum 0 28 Jun 2009 10:21 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors