Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
I built something to hold my wires!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29 Aug 2011, 02:46 pm
Senior Cruiser

Send a message via Skype™ to Dill
Default I built something to hold my wires!

So now that I got a capacitor (eh it was cheap and it adds more flashy boxes in the trunk) i found I had wire mania in my hatch area... This is no good for when I go to RTTB!

So i decided I was going to build a box... My original Idea was t have the amp and cap recessed in the box.. But my sub enclosure is much to big for that... So I decided To build a box and mount the amp and cap ontop of the box and run the wires underneath the box...

So to home depot I went! Now, i have no carpentry experience and all I have is a drill, hand saw and some determination! So I got some wood and wiring things I would need to get this job done.. (i got all the wood off this cart they called the color cart, its unused or bent wood. So all the wood used for the box only cost me under 3 bucks!)

So I built the box yesterday and sat it in my trunk next to my sub, perfect fit!

Next I decided to get fancy and took extra wood peices and painted them, red for positive, white for remote, and black for negative. Then I mounted some thing that I can put my wires into so I wont have to crimp them or anything. And itll look cleaner.

After that I carpeted the box. This was the hardest of all and some of my edgest arent perfect but its fine to me. Atleast I did it myself instead of it being made in china...

Now my next stepis to mount the amp and cap and run the wires. This will make my hatch look much nicer and ill let everyone know when im done as ill write a blog post on my website as well as update my pickled pt chronicles thread in the general discussion area