Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
rear speaker help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08 Feb 2014, 08:07 am
Fresh Cruiser

Question rear speaker help

I just bought a 01 LE PT and the rear speakers dont work, i mean nothing come from them. im no expert but if they were blown should i still hear something like a noise?
could they just be disconnected?
Old 08 Feb 2014, 08:44 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: rear speaker help

The previous owner might have had a stereo system in that he took out and disconnected some wires. He also might have taken the speaker out too. Did you check to see if the speakers are still there?

Where's NO.PO. Florida ??

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Old 08 Feb 2014, 08:52 am
Fresh Cruiser

i checked and the stockers are still there and i know they didnt have an after market,
if your familiar with the area im on the port charlotte/ north port line behind the murdock walmart
Old 08 Feb 2014, 10:32 am
Obsessed Cruiser

There are various aftermarket bypass adapters that reroute or share the rear speaker outputs with a subwoofer. If the previous owner had a subwoofer and removed it before sale, that might be your issue.

You can pull the stereo head and inspect the wiring and plugs going into it. Look for a bypass harness that has been plugged in between the plug coming from you car and the stereo head. Or see if any wires have been spiced or cut.

However, my own 2001 Limited had one dead rear speaker when I got. And it is possible that your rear speakers are just dead. To test this, you will either need an ohm meter or a spare good speaker.

These two jobs are about equal in time and difficulty. So you could do either first.