PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
No power to aftermarket or stock radio

 
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By LionPT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25 Aug 2015, 01:09 am
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: 20 minutes from downtown Los angeles
Posts: 213
Default No power to aftermarket or stock radio

I was installing my double din head unit using the bracket from amazon. I connected the wire harness from crutchfirld and it worked fine. I then disconnected and began to shave down the space for the double djn head unit to fit. But now when connected, the radio will not turn on. I repeat, it worked before... And not anymore. I didn't change any of the wiring. Fuse #15 is not blown... I think...

Everything else works. Ac, lights power doors. Just not the aftermarket radio through the radio harness or the stock radio through the stock connections.

Do I need a multi meter? On and by the way, for those who have done it, how did you particularly shave or cut enough space to fit a double din head unit? Mine is not clean St all. My battery died today. I got it tested and said it was low. I just got s new one. I tested both radios again and neither worked. Still no idea what to do to listen to music!
__________________
--2006 pt cruiser non turbo owner. Completely stock... For now.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25 Aug 2015, 05:50 am
LionPT's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,420
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Look at fuse #20
Gkon likes this.
__________________

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25 Aug 2015, 03:05 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: 20 minutes from downtown Los angeles
Posts: 213
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Tldr. That worked.

Went to lunch, opened fuse box and saw it was blown. I'm ecstatic because I originally thought I ruined the security system or fried the head unit. Connected everything again and replaced the fuse... Everything worked perfectly! I now have an extra USB charging port, aux in (I broke mine on stock head unit) hd radio, bluetooth,... Just thinking I should have splurged an extra $400 for navigation... I'll just upgrade my phone instead and use those dash attachments instead.

What caused it to blow a fuse? An exposed wire from the wire harness? Does each end need to go into a crimp if it is unused?
__________________
--2006 pt cruiser non turbo owner. Completely stock... For now.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25 Aug 2015, 03:50 pm
LionPT's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,420
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyfred View Post
Tldr. That worked.

Went to lunch, opened fuse box and saw it was blown. I'm ecstatic because I originally thought I ruined the security system or fried the head unit. Connected everything again and replaced the fuse... Everything worked perfectly! I now have an extra USB charging port, aux in (I broke mine on stock head unit) hd radio, bluetooth,... Just thinking I should have splurged an extra $400 for navigation... I'll just upgrade my phone instead and use those dash attachments instead.

What caused it to blow a fuse? An exposed wire from the wire harness? Does each end need to go into a crimp if it is unused?
Don't know what caused it to blow...and yes, either crimp or tape them up.
__________________

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25 Aug 2015, 04:34 pm
Gkon's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,840
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyfred View Post
Tldr. That worked.

Went to lunch, opened fuse box and saw it was blown. I'm ecstatic because I originally thought I ruined the security system or fried the head unit. Connected everything again and replaced the fuse... Everything worked perfectly! I now have an extra USB charging port, aux in (I broke mine on stock head unit) hd radio, bluetooth,... Just thinking I should have splurged an extra $400 for navigation... I'll just upgrade my phone instead and use those dash attachments instead.

What caused it to blow a fuse? An exposed wire from the wire harness? Does each end need to go into a crimp if it is unused?
If you were installing the radio without having disconnected the battery, you likely shorted live wire out and blew the fuse.
I'm only guessing, but seems likely.
__________________
2002 PT Cruiser Limited, 2.4L, Automatic Transmission, Metallic Silver Paint
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2015, 02:21 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: 20 minutes from downtown Los angeles
Posts: 213
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gkon View Post
If you were installing the radio without having disconnected the battery, you likely shorted live wire out and blew the fuse.
I'm only guessing, but seems likely.

That makes sense as well. I was moving the wires around while kry was in the ignition and sometimes not. One of the power wires is live and uncapped (no crimp attached, open wire. Just never had the rubber stripped so I'm sure it made contact to a metal surface.

Now to make another thread asking how to upgrade my speakers.

Again, thanks everybody! Still need to clean the trim job so it looks cleaner inside though nobody will ever see it.
__________________
--2006 pt cruiser non turbo owner. Completely stock... For now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2015, 03:33 pm
Gkon's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 1,840
Default Re: No power to aftermarket or stock radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyfred View Post
That makes sense as well. I was moving the wires around while kry was in the ignition and sometimes not. One of the power wires is live and uncapped (no crimp attached, open wire. Just never had the rubber stripped so I'm sure it made contact to a metal surface.

Now to make another thread asking how to upgrade my speakers.

Again, thanks everybody! Still need to clean the trim job so it looks cleaner inside though nobody will ever see it.
Do a search in the Sound ANd Security portion of the forum. There's plenty to read there.
__________________
2002 PT Cruiser Limited, 2.4L, Automatic Transmission, Metallic Silver Paint
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aftermarket radio in 06 06OregonCruiser Sound and Security Forum 13 29 Apr 2015 10:06 pm
Aftermarket amp to stock radio skyline842 Sound and Security Forum 1 02 Mar 2015 08:16 am
Replace Stock radio with Stock Chrysler Nav 01Pittypat Sound and Security Forum 0 24 Sep 2010 03:58 pm
Aftermarket radio help gmariconda Sound and Security Forum 1 05 Jan 2010 04:01 pm
Stock Sirius Radio and Aftermarket Headunit? blueberrygt Sound and Security Forum 1 17 Apr 2005 08:41 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors