PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Ugrade to an RB1 GPS/NAV Radio?

 
Like Tree12Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06 Sep 2017, 01:06 am
dougs's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 309
Default Re: Ugrade to an RB1 GPS/NAV Radio?

[QUOTE=rckstein;668015]The key is you don't have to completely remove them to remove the center bezel, they can stay in the bezel (see below pic). They just need to be unscrewed enough to clear the screw insert in the dash. Once you do it a couple of times, you will then know how much to unscrew them and they will remain with the bezel.

I thought of another solution. Which I think is easier than trying to guess how much to turn a screw that is hidden down a dark tunnel! Wrap a bit of blue tape with the sticky side OUT around the end of the screwdriver. Then wrap a band of tape around the screwdriver shaft to hold that tape in place. The sticky side "grabs" the screw head slots, and you can breath easy, knowing that the screw is not going to fall down into some dark hole! I may patent this and start charging 5 cents every time someone uses this!

__________________
Black base 2006 NA, dented front bumper, scratched rear bumper. 2008 Touring, one of 385 red Turbos built in 2008. Limited grill, body-colored mirrors, grab handle deleted, dual-tone horn, shorty antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16 Sep 2017, 07:25 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ugrade to an RB1 GPS/NAV Radio?

Not completely done with the RB1 upgrade. The NAV system remains untested because...

I did not get the original NAV disc with the unit, but purchased an 'aftermarket upgrade.' That disk (actually two of them) both get Disc Read Error message.
Hoping it's just a matter of bad software.

I saw somewhere that there was a firmware update on the AG version and am wondering if my aftermarket AL update can't read because the AG firmware was never installed. I think I saw that as a possibility on another forum.

So, anyone out here in PT world have an extra OEM NAV disc lying around I might get for cheap? The unit came from an '05 PT, which makes me think it originally would have come with the AD version.

AD through AG might answer my issue. Let me know.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fm radio broadcaster/ transmitter for stock radio garyd75 Sound and Security Forum 3 15 Mar 2017 02:24 pm
Why would vent selector change the radio station? (aftermarket radio) Spaz Sound and Security Forum 11 08 May 2016 02:10 am
2007 chrysler base cd radio to chrysler sirus radio swap? peterspt Sound and Security Forum 0 09 Aug 2014 02:14 am
Installed New Radio, Interior Lights wont wont, Radio Doesnt receive "Constant" Power Mc5Cent Interior Accessories Forum 0 08 May 2013 07:12 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors