PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
RB1 Upgrade and ECM Flash?

 
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By RCSnyder
  • 1 Post By Handy_Cruiser

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27 Jan 2018, 09:55 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 76
Default RB1 Upgrade and ECM Flash?

A while back I picked up an RB1 Nav system from a PT (of all things) at the local PnP. Initially it has a squeal and was advised to clip the wire feeding data from the ECM. Did that and squeal was gone but...

The Nav system remained/remains problematic. A recent replacement Nav antenna seemed to help with the unit's directional orientation but the thing still struggles with knowing if the car is moving, only updating location sporadically.

It seems that the ECM feed would be the link that lets the system know if the car is moving and at what speed, but I was told it was unnecessary on 'round faced' head units.

I guess I'm double checking this advice and thinking I need to reconnect and visit my local dealer for an ECM flash.

Please advise.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28 Jan 2018, 11:18 am
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 9,573
Default Re: RB1 Upgrade and ECM Flash?

The ECM lead is just a PCI connection that tells the RB1 which opening screen to use, such as Dodge, Jeep or Chrysler. It doesn't work right on many vehicles including most PT's. The default is Chrysler anyway. As far as I know, it has nothing to do with the NAV system.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16 Feb 2018, 07:56 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 76
Default Re: RB1 Upgrade and ECM Flash?

Closing the loop...

Dealer did confirm RB1 is a stand-alone unit.
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16 Feb 2018, 10:30 am
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 9,573
Default Re: RB1 Upgrade and ECM Flash?

Yep. On an interesting note, beside determining the opening screen (Dodge, Chrysler, etc.), the RDS information from the outboard CD player or satellite radio receiver flows to the RB1 via that same PCI wire. It's a proprietary system that I was never able to get to work. There's a special cable for this that I believe has some electronics embedded in it. For me, I was only able to get the channel to show up on SiriusXM, but no artists or song titles on the screen.

The best thing to do with that PCI bus wire is cut it. It seems to only cause issues. Here's me doing it in my Dodge Quadcab.



smarq17 likes this.
__________________

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 16 Feb 2018 at 10:36 am.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blinker relay upgrade to 3 flash quick flick CoreyTroy Interior Accessories Forum 5 09 Dec 2015 11:16 pm
PCM Flash rsmotorworks General PT Cruiser Discussions 3 28 Jul 2014 09:55 am
To flash or not to flash? Shiniquiet General PT Cruiser Discussions 3 03 Jun 2010 06:42 pm
PCM Flash Deborah45 Tech & Performance Forum 0 20 Apr 2010 11:30 am
Flash where ya at? OurPTGT General Turbo Discussions 2 16 Aug 2003 04:45 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors