PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Where to ground sub amp

 
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Birdman
  • 1 Post By ShakeMyShifter99

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2018, 03:37 pm
KalebSikora's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Default Where to ground sub amp

I have installed a subwoofer and an amp in the trunk and I'm having a hard time finding a bolt for my ground wire. Is there any pre-made hole to the bare metal like under the front seat or will I have to drill a new hole? If I do have to drill, how and where would I go about doing that?

Last edited by KalebSikora; 07 Mar 2018 at 03:39 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2018, 03:54 pm
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 9,593
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

The silver cargo rings in the back screw into the chassis on the bottom rings and into metal brackets that are bolted to the chassis on the side rings. These should provide a pretty good ground. And one of the large Torx-head seat belt bolts should provide an excellent ground.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2018, 04:04 pm
KalebSikora's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

Oh sweet I'll have to check that out. I noticed those actually but wasn't too sure on how to remove the trim. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07 Mar 2018, 06:02 pm
JonN's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 272
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

What did you decide on for a system?
__________________
BIG RED '01 LE 174K
Vision Cross 16x7 Rims, 205/55/16 , Painted Calipers, Spoiler, CAI

Now driven by my brother

Sound System
Pioneer DEH-64BT head unit, Zapco Z400-C4SL competition amplifier, 2 10" MTX subwoofers, Rockford Fosgate P1T-S Tweets, Rockford Fosgate 6x8"s , Rockford Fosgate 6.5"'s, AudioControl 24XS crossover



Newest Car
2016 Jeep Patriot Sport 2.4L 6 speed auto 58k
Chrome grille and wheel covers
Powerstop Z23 evolution front brakes
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16 Mar 2018, 02:03 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Calgary,Alberta,Canada
Posts: 400
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

I used to compete in SPL car audio competition on a national level
https://www.termpro.com/asp/competit...38893&Method=1

Competitor Stats: Aaron Bird

Competitor Stats: Team Darkside

(I got out of it in 2008)... my biggest build was 2 18" dual voice coil Inhuman hand built subs on 10,000 watts in a 30 cubic foot sub box built in my 89 Caravan running 3 runs each power and ground of 2/0 welding cable to aluminum buss bars..... I also used to install for Best Buy Electronics here in Calgary... I say all this to back up my knowledge and not to show off.

The best ground you can get is direct to the battery. And make sure the ground cable is at least the same gauge as the power cable...or better use a bigger gauge for the ground. It lowers the resistance in the circuit and will extend the life of your amp. Also make sure your connections are soldered where possible.

As far as the ground, to the battery and bigger than the power cable...the 2 best pieces of advice I can offer to anyone.
NitroPT likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16 Mar 2018, 02:47 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,028
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

If any ground is used for an Amplifier other then the direct battery you must make sure the the *grounds are good between the frame and body and engine and frame and engine and body . Don't assume that even a single or grouping of factory harness grounding wires has the best continuity. Most times the addition of *added braided ground straps are needed to insure best grounding of all electrical components on most every platform when adding upgraded stereo components like amplifiers or even other electrical projects.
__________________

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28 Mar 2018, 04:44 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

If you can, run a ground of equal or greater size than the power wire all the way back to the battery. That is 100% the BEST option but it certainly isn't always practical. However, I understand that wire can be expensive and bulky. If you choose not to run it back to the battery, you can ground to metal in the trunk. (This is the method I chose for my fairly modest system) There are a few things to consider when grounding to the trunk.
1) Location.
This one of the most important parts of making your ground. You need to find a place where the metal isn't super thin and has a large contact are with the rest of the body. We need the circuit to have as little resistance as possible.
2) Contact.
You'll need good contact between your ring terminal and the body of the car. Ground to a flat, clean spot if possible. I always like to drill my ground, sand the burrs smooth and wire-wheel or sand the heck outta the area the ring will be touching. Afterwards, I spray satin clear coat on the top and bottom to try and prevent rust.
3) Safety.
Make sure nothing will be getting anywhere near shorting this sucker out. Use the proper fuses and always heat-shrink your connections.

Hope I could help at least a little!
-Zack
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
__________________
Silver 2001 “FreeT Cruiser” Base. Dead stock.
1/4 mile: <30 sec
0-60: eventually
I love my car and Cruiser culture.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28 Mar 2018, 08:55 am
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA kalyfornia
Posts: 15,028
Default Re: Where to ground sub amp

^^That's all a great response but if the response i first posted is not first done then using the trunk area will cause grounding issues when using an high output amplifier that needs the best positive and ground connections..
This is why most higher end stereo shop do not ground in the trunk as described without first install a grounding kit.

But members can do what they think is best!
__________________

Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where to ground amp bhunt41 Sound and Security Forum 5 29 Aug 2011 03:14 pm
Ground Wires? psychejim6077 Tech & Performance Forum 10 10 Jan 2011 10:04 am
Ground Effects Windancer Exterior Accessories Forum 2 28 May 2007 08:01 pm
where to ground my amp CruiserDan Sound and Security Forum 6 17 Dec 2004 03:43 pm
Ground strap mcruz General PT Cruiser Discussions 8 26 Dec 2003 09:36 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors