PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Stage Turbo Kits

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 09:59 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 10
Default Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Hey all I used to have an 05 PT Classic but then I had to sell it to my parents when I moved to the UK.
I am now going to be buying an 05 GT!!! WOOOO!!!
I have been looking at a lot of mods and it seems to me that buying the stage 2 turbo upgrade instead of the stage 1 would make a lot more sence.
That is of course if the stage 2 that I was looking at would work on the GT, the only stage 2 I could find was for the SRT-4, I am guessing they are compatible?

Let me know what you think.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 10:51 am
quicksilverdon's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Felton, Delaware
Posts: 20,504
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

There is no stage 2 for PTs. In order to put in Stage 1, the vehicle VIN has to be entered - can't do it.
__________________
"Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life,
nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
Isaac Asimov"

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 01:00 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 10
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Ok I feel stupid now!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 11:39 pm
Gold GT's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 54
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

No worries A better question is WHY IS THERE NO STAGE 2 KIT FOR THE PT
__________________
'04 Gold GT 5spd (there is no other way)
Mopar Stage 1 upgrade, Mopar BOV Conversion, AEM CAI, High Flow Haynes Plastic Intake Manifold, MSD High Voltage Ignition Coil Pack, MagnaCore Spark Plug Wires, AutoMeter Boost Gauge, Greddy Oil Catch Can, Hurst STS... Plus a much longer wish list




I DO ALL MY OWN WORK!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 11:43 pm
Gold GT's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 54
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Search P4510257 for more info.
__________________
'04 Gold GT 5spd (there is no other way)
Mopar Stage 1 upgrade, Mopar BOV Conversion, AEM CAI, High Flow Haynes Plastic Intake Manifold, MSD High Voltage Ignition Coil Pack, MagnaCore Spark Plug Wires, AutoMeter Boost Gauge, Greddy Oil Catch Can, Hurst STS... Plus a much longer wish list




I DO ALL MY OWN WORK!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 12:43 am
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon.
Posts: 3,521
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gold GT View Post
No worries A better question is WHY IS THERE NO STAGE 2 KIT FOR THE PT
The weak automatic transmission couldn't handle it.
__________________
\'05 Stone White SRT4

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 04:34 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 10
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gold GT View Post
Search P4510257 for more info.
So your saying that there is a stage 2 turbo upgrade for the PT Cruiser?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 11:48 am
Gold GT's Avatar
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 54
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

No they never released it. But if the auto tranny was the only prolbem they should've at least hooked it up for those of us with a 5 spd Oh well guess we just have to spend more and upgrade ourselves. Thanks' for the info Mean Green!
__________________
'04 Gold GT 5spd (there is no other way)
Mopar Stage 1 upgrade, Mopar BOV Conversion, AEM CAI, High Flow Haynes Plastic Intake Manifold, MSD High Voltage Ignition Coil Pack, MagnaCore Spark Plug Wires, AutoMeter Boost Gauge, Greddy Oil Catch Can, Hurst STS... Plus a much longer wish list




I DO ALL MY OWN WORK!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 05:59 pm
Dream4's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ANNAPOLIS, MD, USA.
Posts: 150
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

I am not sure about the Trans won't take it line, as to why they did not make a Stage 2 for the PT, as if you have a '05 or newer and add Stage 1, you are actuatly are getting the So called Stage 2 power levels. For '05 and up you upgrade to 235hp 275 ft-lbs torque measured at the Wheels.
The original Stage kits up to and including '04 were measured at the crank, you have 10 to 15% loss with a 5 speed manual trans and 20% with the auto trans.

The original specs in the '04 Mopar manual are:
Stage 1 235 hp 240ft-lbs
Stage 2 260 hp 280 ft-lbs
Stage 2 with toys (SRT4 only) 265 hp 280 ft-lbs
Stage 2 (High Octane Mode) 280 hp 300 ft-lbs
Stage 3R (SRT4 only) 310 hp 325 ft-lbs
Stage 3R (SRT4 only Hi Octane Mode) 355 hp 365 ft-lbs

With the '05 and up measured at the wheels at least 5 of us over on PT Crew have dyno'd our cars, (mine just this past Saturday) and we all made 235 +/-5 whp 290 to 305 ft-lbs torque to the wheels, now if you add back in the trans losses 20% for the auto you have 282 hp at the crank, 360 ft lbs at the crank.

So for the '05 and newer with Stage 1 and a free flow exhaust and take the restrictions out of the stock air box and intake tube you are past the original PT and SRT4 Stage 2 specs.

Now I will not go any higher until I have my auto trans upgraded for more power.
__________________
'05 GT Dream Cruiser Series 4. No.1109
http://www.alcamar.com/mods/
http://www.alcamar.com/dc4
http://www.alcamar.com/trailer/
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16 Jan 2008, 01:39 am
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon.
Posts: 3,521
Default Re: Skip stage 1 and go directly to stage 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dream4 View Post
I am not sure about the Trans won't take it line, as to why they did not make a Stage 2 for the PT, as if you have a '05 or newer and add Stage 1, you are actuatly are getting the So called Stage 2 power levels. For '05 and up you upgrade to 235hp 275 ft-lbs torque measured at the Wheels.
The original Stage kits up to and including '04 were measured at the crank, you have 10 to 15% loss with a 5 speed manual trans and 20% with the auto trans.

The original specs in the '04 Mopar manual are:
Stage 1 235 hp 240ft-lbs
Stage 2 260 hp 280 ft-lbs
Stage 2 with toys (SRT4 only) 265 hp 280 ft-lbs
Stage 2 (High Octane Mode) 280 hp 300 ft-lbs
Stage 3R (SRT4 only) 310 hp 325 ft-lbs
Stage 3R (SRT4 only Hi Octane Mode) 355 hp 365 ft-lbs

With the '05 and up measured at the wheels at least 5 of us over on PT Crew have dyno'd our cars, (mine just this past Saturday) and we all made 235 +/-5 whp 290 to 305 ft-lbs torque to the wheels, now if you add back in the trans losses 20% for the auto you have 282 hp at the crank, 360 ft lbs at the crank.

So for the '05 and newer with Stage 1 and a free flow exhaust and take the restrictions out of the stock air box and intake tube you are past the original PT and SRT4 Stage 2 specs.

Now I will not go any higher until I have my auto trans upgraded for more power.
They lied. I have Stage 2 No Toys, a TBE and a few bolt ons on my '05 SRT-4 and I'm running 287 hp and 310 torque at the wheels so around 336 hp and 360 torque at the crank. So you're still a ways away from S2 numbers. They lied about all of the Stage kits.

As for the auto tranny being too weak for Stage 2 line you are on PT Crew. Everybody there knows the 41TE auto tranny is weak. Heck, I lost one on a 150 hp NA PT. DCX knew they'd open a hornet's nest if they went ahead with S2 and S3 for the PT. 95% of all PTs are automatic.
__________________
\'05 Stone White SRT4

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are there any step by step instructions for mopar stage 2 wastegate and or dual stage dmkolb Turbo Performance 7 04 Aug 2010 04:44 pm
Stage II for PT is here! skripo General Turbo Discussions 9 12 May 2008 10:11 pm
Stage 1 and 2 modules on Ebay pdbrains Stage Turbo Kits 3 16 Aug 2007 01:06 pm
Stage 2 info from SRT-4 site dtbrks Stage Turbo Kits 24 26 Nov 2003 05:24 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors