PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Timing belt replacement

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11 Sep 2005, 07:41 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Timing belt replacement

My 2003 is coming up on 80,000 miles. Has anyone out there in PT land changed their own timing belt? I think the manual recommends 100,000 miles, but I have heard of horror stories as little as 70,000. My car is acting alittle funny lately. It is stalling out when the air is on and I just give enough gas to produce movement.
Old 12 Sep 2005, 05:31 pm
Cool Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to satellite66

The stalling I doubt has anything to do with the timing belt.
I just looked through a shop manual and it looks like it might be more work than the average guy should attempt. I did the t belt last year on my Mazda and it was a real chore. I don't know what your background is but in my youth I was a dealership mechanic so I am comfortable working on cars. Of course not being as slim or limber as I once was did not help either. If you attempt it good luck.

2003 Electric Blue 5spd
Many on the political left are so entranced by the beauty of their vision that they cannot see the ugly reality they are creating in the real world.
Old 12 Sep 2005, 07:21 pm
Cool Cruiser

I haven't done one in a PT (mine is at only 13k), but have done many in the past. I can tell you that if you haven't done one before, this would not be a good one to start on. It's very tight and a DOHC is tougher than a SOHC. If you must do it due to lack of local pro talent or money, research it (factory manual) and have someone with experience lend a hand. If you get it all right it will be a great feeling. If you get any of it wrong, it could be a lot more money and a big bummer.

2004 Dark Plum Base with windows tinted, cabin filter, silencers removed, fog lights, 18\'s, all Red taillights, Blaine\'s struts, modesty cover, color-matched center dash, 06 rear bumper
Old 13 Sep 2005, 03:54 pm
Fanatic Cruiser