PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
More plug/wire questions - sorry

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Jul 2006, 03:58 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default More plug/wire questions - sorry

Hi,
My wife and I have a 2001 PT (non-turbo) and a 2003 GT (turbo). I am going to change the plugs and wires myself for the first time. Both are just over 30K miles. I am not a mechanic, but technically pretty competent.

I ordered NGK Iridium 2314 plugs for both cars (gap-.052) and 1 set of Magnacor 47231 wires for the GT and 1 set Magnacor 47428 for the non-turbo.

First, I have seen conflicting comments on the latest gap for the cars. Are both being gapped to 0.40 or just the turbo? Should I change the gap? Can I gap the iridium plugs?

The Magnacor 47231 have 90 degree boots for the plugs while the 47428 wires have straight boots. Yet the engines look the same. Is it possible the 47231 are wrong? The bix does not list the PT but this is the wire set listed on the magnacor website? Yet the 47428 box specifically says "non turbo PT"....

Anything else I should know?

Thanks for your help.
Old 13 Jul 2006, 08:12 am
Senior Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to gonzomania

Ted you might try this link for the install: http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=4291473219
Old 13 Jul 2006, 10:01 am
Obsessed Cruiser

The .040in gap is only for the Non-turbo PT. Chrysler put out a Tecnical Service Bulletin on it. I've never used the iridium plugs so can't help on that question.

My new set of wires also came with the 90 degree boot (for the coil end) whereas the OEM plugs were straight but they fit OK and work well.

You'll want to pick up Anti-seize lubricant for the plugs and Dielectric greese for the plug ends. Anti-seize on the threads of the plug to they won't corrode and be easy to take out next time, the greese on the plug ends so seal out moisture and help make a good contact on the coil and plug.