Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Lousy Gas Mileage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Oct 2007, 10:31 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Lousy Gas Mileage

Hi, Everyone. I'm new to this web site and I'm sure this question has come up before. I own 2 PT's (2002 & 2007). The 2002 averages about 21 mpg (Long Island - flat terrain), which is O.K. (I guess) but the 2007 (Florida) seems to be around 15+ mpg. I don't have a heavy foot (I mean, what's the point - these things are slugs anyway) and I use cruise control 80% of the time. I have seen where some people claim they get upwards of 30 mpg but I really ain't buying that. Before you get insulted with the "slug" remark I'll say I love these things, but performance isn't one of their attributes. I drive an NHRA Super Gas car which goes over 160 mph in the 1/4, so not too much feels fast on the street (not even the 480 c.i. hemi that I built for my friend's '70 Challenger). Anyway, does anybody out there have any tricks besides tire pressure for getting better mileage? I really believe the cam timing should be advanced, because this engine has NO low end torque but runs O.K. if it's revved past 3000 rpm.
Ken B.
Old 12 Oct 2007, 12:59 pm
Regular Cruiser

Default Re: Lousy Gas Mileage

Wecolme to the site...I too am from Long Island ...Plainview....
I have a 2005 GT Turbo with about 600 miles on it .....I am easy on the pedal & am getting 16mpg....I would love to know how to do better....I put a K&N air intake & no better mileage....just a bit more pep....

Larry

tpsfoto@gmail.com
2005 Plum Vert GT Turbo HO
Nav, Chrome 17" Wheels 5 Speed
K&N Typhoon Air Intake, AOOgah Horn, Freedom Design Strut Tower Brace
Some chrome here & there....

2009 PT bought with Cash For Clunkers.....sold it for a
2014 Juke
Old 12 Oct 2007, 03:53 pm
Obsessed Cruiser