PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
New remote programming

 
Like Tree7Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 10:24 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Bend, IN.
Posts: 473
Default Re: New remote programming

You need 2 keys to program another.
You only need 1 FOB to program up to 7.

If you only have one key........
You DO NOT have to visit a dealership. You only need to find a repair shop (like mine) with a Chrysler DRB-III scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2008, 12:04 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: great white north minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: New remote programming

Hey not to sound dumb, but what is a drbIII scanner I have a genisis with the chrystler chip is that the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09 Mar 2008, 01:41 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: small town alberta canada
Posts: 34
Default Re: New remote programming

the drb III is the factory scan tool. for a older scan tool you can really do a lot with it, it has a built in multi meter, lab scope, its what the dealer will use to flash the differnt controlers in the non-can bus obdII vehicals.
its a great tool if you can find a mechanic that knows how to use everypart of it.
and for the new canbus vehicals they use the new scanners called the starscan, and the starmobile the starscan is nice with its color touch screen but i find it very slow, the starmobile is both a code scanner and a pass thru device, in pass thru you can use a laptop like i do and do every the star scan can do but much much faster.

the drbIII and that starscan will show a good mechanic so much more then the genisis, which can really aid in proper diagnosis of electrical fauls and dtc's so that you car can get fixed right the first time you take it in to the shop.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18 Mar 2008, 02:25 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: New remote programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by MX-5 View Post
You need 2 keys to program another.
You only need 1 FOB to program up to 7.

If you only have one key........
You DO NOT have to visit a dealership. You only need to find a repair shop (like mine) with a Chrysler DRB-III scanner.
so with my wifes 06 pt with the key/keyless entery combo dohicky, if we only have one then we must take it to a shop to add another, but if she had one with the key and fob as two seperate pieces then she could program another one from that one?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18 Mar 2008, 03:08 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: small town alberta canada
Posts: 34
Default Re: New remote programming

if its the combo with only one then yes you have to take it in,
same with the stand alone key if you only have one key
but if you have just one stand alone fob then you can program a second fob on your own.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30 Aug 2009, 11:05 am
ejstith's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 102
Default Re: New remote programming

From what I gather for an up to '05 PT you have to have 2 keys but only one fob. To owner program a key you have to have 2. That's what the seller on Ebay said. The fob needs only one to program a new fob ... ?????
__________________
2005 PT, Limited turbo Lite. Automatic all whistles and bells.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14 Sep 2009, 07:57 am
Mal Mal is offline
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 164
Default Re: New remote programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejstith View Post
From what I gather for an up to '05 PT you have to have 2 keys but only one fob. To owner program a key you have to have 2. That's what the seller on Ebay said. The fob needs only one to program a new fob ... ?????
That is correct. The PT I bought used had 1 key and 1 FOB. I had to get a key from the dealer at $140 and used it and the one that came with the car to program a third that I bought from the internet and had cut locally. The one Fob was enough to program the second I bought from the net. I think it really important to have 3 keys and 2 fobs so the dealer or a locksmith is never required in case of a loss.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14 Sep 2009, 02:11 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New remote programming

I followed the instructions posted here to reprogram the remote after replacing the battery. Still does not work. No beep sounds during program process. Need assistance, please.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14 Sep 2009, 04:22 pm
Mal Mal is offline
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 164
Default Re: New remote programming

You stated, "the remote". You cannot self program 1 remote without having a working remote. You need a working one to program another. Otherwise it's off to te locksmith with the proper tool or, heaven help you, the dealer.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15 Sep 2009, 08:34 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New remote programming

The remote that is not working is the only one I have and was given to me when purchased. Did you say a locksmith can reprogram the single remote?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming the keyless Remote Depot3d General PT Cruiser Discussions 73 03 Oct 2017 11:51 am
remote starters corvairbob General PT Cruiser Discussions 1 18 Jun 2005 12:13 am
Amp Remote... CHROMEDCRUISER Sound and Security Forum 4 16 Jan 2005 12:39 am
Remote Starter for 03 GT Indynick General Turbo Discussions 6 22 Dec 2004 03:44 am
Remote start with factory alarm SwtNLwPT Sound and Security Forum 0 14 Jul 2004 10:19 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors