PT Cruiser Forum  

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

hesitation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Sep 2001, 04:03 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default hesitation

Has anyone complained about hesitation while accelerating? I have a automatic PT. It seems to bog down and then it goes quite well. Also at a steady spped the engine seems to rev up for a moment and then resume it normal speed. This occurs at all rpm ranges. Any thoughts, it would be appreciated. Thanks. JST CRZN

Old 07 Sep 2001, 09:27 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

I'm no expert, but it sounds like something that happened to me when I had a Chevy Z24. Turned out it was the computer acting up and getting its signals messed up. Try pulling the negative cable for about 30 seconds from the battery. You'll loose your clock and preset radio stations. Re-attach it and start the car and go for a short run to let the computer re-learn the car. Happy CREWZIN!

CREWZIN
Old 09 Sep 2001, 11:16 am
Fresh Cruiser

Quote:
quote:
I'm no expert, but it sounds like something that happened to me when I had a Chevy Z24. Turned out it was the computer acting up and getting its signals messed up. Try pulling the negative cable for about 30 seconds from the battery. You'll loose your clock and preset radio stations. Re-attach it and start the car and go for a short run to let the computer re-learn the car. Happy CREWZIN!

CREWZIN
Old 09 Oct 2001, 10:15 am
Fresh Cruiser

Is your AC or Defog on? Since Defog uses AC air to maximize the effect. We noticed a major hesitation when the AC is engaged, many times I forget its on and wonder whats wrong with the car.

Chris and Alison Nolan
http://members.home.net/loyal14
Old 21 Oct 2001, 02:35 pm
Fresh Cruiser

I have a 5 spd, & have also noticed a hesitation on accelleration.