PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
CPS Error Code

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 09:50 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 9
Cool CPS Error Code

03 GT with under 70,000. My wife was driving on friday when the check engine light came on and the car began lurching. I pull the code (340) and replaced the camshaft position sensor. The wire and plug appeared to be in good condition. I test ran the car and it appeared to be fixed. The very next day, the same problem occurred again. Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 11:01 am
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,758
Default Re: CPS Error Code

When it appeared again the next day, did the Check Engine light and code come up again? Did you clear all the codes after installing the Camshaft sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 11:23 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPS Error Code

The same code did appear again. I was not aware that I would have to clear the code. Oops. Would not clearing the code cause the same mechanical symptoms to occur again? What is the process for clearing the code? THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 11:44 am
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,758
Default Re: CPS Error Code

The purpose of clearing the code is so it won't pop up again when you check the codes. The computer stores them til you get rid of them. Pull the negative battery cable off for about 5 minutes. The PT will run a little rough till computer learns any mods and how you drive. That doesn't take into account how bad it will run if you still have the P0340 problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 11:52 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPS Error Code

Thanks CREWZIN. I will try that after work today. I'll post if it works or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 02:08 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: CPS Error Code

good luck !!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 07:37 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPS Error Code

The newbie here again. I tried clearing the code after replacing the the camshaft position sensor per the code 340. Did not work. Once I hit about 2000 rpm I still get the cut out and now get now get code 344 (this started basically instantly. I originally didi not have this code). I am at a loss. In the family we have a custom 01 tricked out normally aspirated and a 05 GT convert. Both have no problems other than the 01 that was fixed with boogar bushings. I did check the odometer and it is at 69,250 exactly. Should I just put it in service?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 08:07 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,758
Default Re: CPS Error Code

The last thing I can suggest is to trace the wires from the camshaft sensor. A couple owners including myself had the wires come loose and touch the half shaft and burn the the outer casing and burning the wires causing a loss of signal from the sensor to the computer.

If that doesn't work, you might have to get some professional help.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 08:38 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPS Error Code

Thank you very much for all your help CREWZIN! I will make one more attempt then I give up. I am in my early 30's but grew up with hot rods (67 Fairlane (first car, still just a kid!), 68 vet, currently the family t-bucket as well as many "C" series" vettes) but get completely lost on the computer cars. If I can ever do anything to help with the site or your organization, let me know. It is what I do. Dan
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23 Sep 2008, 08:48 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,758
Default Re: CPS Error Code

I'm with you. My 87 isn't that far into the computer age and still has a distributer and points to mess arounf with.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors