PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 02:23 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

I bought Mopar cruise control kit. With the help of a very knowlageable son-in-law, we finished in a couple of hours. But, it does not work, so we must be missing something. Thinking the pcm might need re-programing, I took the car to a Chrysler dealer. The service manager told me re-programing was not necessary.

After double/triple checking all connections, I contacted the Chrysler dealer who sold the kit. He called the factory and was told some of the kits contained a faulty switch (at steering column). So, they send a replacement. We installed it and still on cruise on the Cruiser!

We preformed an error code check and none were displayed. During the procedure "Cruise" appears on the control panel above odometer. So, it appears the pcm has detected the new cruise control.

Any assistance appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 02:34 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,756
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

After CRUISE appears above the odometer (which means it's ON) what are you doing next? In order to set the speed that the car will cruise at I have to take the stalk and push in down to actually engage the control and it only works above a certain speed, about 35mph. At that time the word SET appears after the word CRUISE.

Also once it's engaged at a particular speed, a slight tap upwards increases the cruise speed by 1 mph, a slight tap down does the opposite.

I'm reading one of your other posts that says it's an 07 cruiser so things might be different in the newer models. Chrysler seems to change things just for the sake of change.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.

Last edited by CREWZIN; 05 Oct 2008 at 02:43 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 02:41 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

Crewzin,

You misunderstood. "Cruise" appears only while doing the error code test.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 02:45 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,756
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

So, "CRUISE" appears when doing the error code test and not the test that tests all the dials?

I guess it's telling you there's an ERROR with the installation of your kit.

Sorry, can't help.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 03:45 pm
Hooligan's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,023
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

Quote:
Originally Posted by CREWZIN View Post
After CRUISE appears above the odometer (which means it's ON) what are you doing next? In order to set the speed that the car will cruise at I have to take the stalk and push in down to actually engage the control and it only works above a certain speed, about 35mph. At that time the word SET appears after the word CRUISE.

Also once it's engaged at a particular speed, a slight tap upwards increases the cruise speed by 1 mph, a slight tap down does the opposite.

I'm reading one of your other posts that says it's an 07 cruiser so things might be different in the newer models. Chrysler seems to change things just for the sake of change.
On our 3 PT's, what Crewzin told you is correct!! I have checked for codes and have not gotten the word cruise in the error area. Try Crewzin's suggestions to SET the cruise.
__________________

2008 Silver Steel Metallic, Touring, NA, Sirius; Chromed door handles; lower grille; fog light surrounds; chrome front & rear bumpers strips; Airaid air filter; Bassani duals; Modesty Cover; Autolite AP5263 Platinum Plugs (.040); Crane Plug Wires; NAPA Ceramic pads; Blane hood struts; PTeazer Gas, Brake & Foot Rest Pedals, '05 Rear Step Pad, Stainless Door Sills, Llumar tint, "A" Piller chrome; APC Strut Bar
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 05:07 pm
ucantcme's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wixom, Michigan
Posts: 1,486
Send a message via AIM to ucantcme Send a message via MSN to ucantcme Send a message via Skype™ to ucantcme
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

My Cruise doesn't put "SET" after the word cruise on my dash....!

My cruiser will work at 25mph and higher. Any lower and cruise will not engage.
__________________



My Baby:
01' Taupe Limited PT Cruiser w/ rear spoiler, Drop in K&N Air Filter, Limo tint all around, blue neon interior, blue LED windshield nozzles,
In-dash CD/DVD/Radio made by Jensen, Vent Visors, Chrome Antenna Bezel, Chrome Grille inserts, Dual Catback Exhaust, Scan Gauge II,
back-up camera, and a system containing 2 Lanzar 15" subwoofers and an MA Audio 1800watt amplifier.

Check me out on Car Domain!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 05:37 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,756
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

Quote:
Originally Posted by ucantcme View Post
My Cruise doesn't put "SET" after the word cruise on my dash....!
I might have been mistaken about that as I was trying to remember from memory and the "set" might have come up on one of my other cars.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 05:51 pm
Hooligan's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,023
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

On the cruise control lever, you have to push the button in (towards the steering column), The word CRUISE comes on. When you get up to the speed you wish, you pull the lever down. That sets your speed control.
__________________

2008 Silver Steel Metallic, Touring, NA, Sirius; Chromed door handles; lower grille; fog light surrounds; chrome front & rear bumpers strips; Airaid air filter; Bassani duals; Modesty Cover; Autolite AP5263 Platinum Plugs (.040); Crane Plug Wires; NAPA Ceramic pads; Blane hood struts; PTeazer Gas, Brake & Foot Rest Pedals, '05 Rear Step Pad, Stainless Door Sills, Llumar tint, "A" Piller chrome; APC Strut Bar
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06 Oct 2008, 06:29 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 535
Default Re: MOPAR CRUISE CONTROL KIT

First... What year model? Second is the wiring right? If you used wiring that was there it may not be right. Even though there may be wiring here and there it may not go anywhere. I just installed a cruise kit on an 08 and part of the wiring was there at the steering wheel but it didn't go any where.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Engine Light came on - code 1188? coolvirus General Turbo Discussions 38 25 May 2011 09:01 am
part numbers Punch General Turbo Discussions 8 19 Sep 2009 08:44 pm
obd-II codes Punch General Turbo Discussions 13 06 Jul 2009 06:54 pm
Error Codes thegoldpt Turbo Performance 6 07 Apr 2007 02:26 pm
Error Code List skylight General Turbo Discussions 6 07 Apr 2007 02:11 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors