PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Motor mounts

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 03:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to saldagus
Default Motor mounts

Are the upper and lower mounts interchangeable in the AT and MT cruisers?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 04:20 pm
PT_Cuda's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belleuve, WA from Los Angeles - Road Rage specialist
Posts: 311
Default Re: Motor mounts

The torque struts aka the motor mounts are the same on all PT's of all years..

pic of the torque struts what most people call the motor mounts.

The shorty is the upper and is filled with polyurethane

The long one is the lower that is a tore up stock mount.

__________________
I make people mad.. Its what I'm good at..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 04:43 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to saldagus
Default Re: Motor mounts

Just asking because when I went to my local dealership, they had different part numbers for the a/t and the m/t torque mounts.

Last edited by saldagus; 14 Apr 2009 at 04:47 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 05:49 pm
PT_Cuda's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belleuve, WA from Los Angeles - Road Rage specialist
Posts: 311
Default Re: Motor mounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by saldagus View Post
Just asking because when I went to my local dealership, they had different part numbers for the a/t and the m/t torque mounts.
They may have different numbers but they are the same part.. I've changed both auto and 5-speed cars they are the same. The set above in the pic came out of a 5-speed, but the replacements for these came out of an auto. They were filled with window weld and caused too much vibration for the owner of the Auto, so I scored a smoking deal on them. Mounted right up no issues..

They are also the exact same part for the SRT4(neon) 03-05 cars.. Cause we share basically the same front assembly motor and suspension, brakes and whatnot.


Or another thing you can try if your mounts still look decent but are just floppy is motor mount inserts.. You can see in this pic how an insert will beef up a stock mount and give it less flex. Downside is that this can cause too much vibration for some people. And its worse in the Automatic cars than the 5-speed cars. I know we have both at our house and the filled mounts were horrible in the auto but I don't notice a thing in my 5-speed both 03 GT's..



Linky where I got mine for my N/A car, red is the "race" black is the "street" race being a harder compound than the street inserts.

http://www.modernperformance.com/pro...t4-p-1131.html
__________________
I make people mad.. Its what I'm good at..

Last edited by PT_Cuda; 14 Apr 2009 at 05:54 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14 Apr 2009, 10:04 pm
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon.
Posts: 3,521
Default Re: Motor mounts

The neon srt-4 mounts are ten times better than the flimsy PT mounts.
__________________
\'05 Stone White SRT4

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15 Apr 2009, 09:01 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to saldagus
Default Re: Motor mounts

Thanks for the responses. This works out well, my stealership's out of auto mounts but has the 5 speed ones. I just need a cheap set to get me going, and im going to fill my broken ones
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15 Apr 2009, 09:06 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to saldagus
Default Re: Motor mounts

I'm all for the inserts. I had the rex ones in my Neon back in the day.
I'll check around for a set of prothanes or energy ones.
Stupid motor rocking back and forth broke my header at the collector
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors