Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
control arm bushings?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05 May 2009, 08:13 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default control arm bushings?

Hi I'am a newbie here. I have a 2003 PT I was recently flunked on my state inspection. The shop said I have bad lower control arm bushings (rear ones on the front control arms) Has anybody replaced theirs? 2 differen't auto parts stores said these were a dealer only part.-thanks
Old 05 May 2009, 11:11 pm
Regular Cruiser

Default Re: control arm bushings?

Welcome to the Forum nhdriver,
I have a 05 convertible and I just replaced them on mine plus I just looked up the bushing part number on both 03 and 05 and they are the same part number. So to answer your question yes most any shop can replace them. They have to use a press to get them out and installed and use the same tools it takes to replace the ball joints. I removed the control arms myself and took them to a shop I use and they replaced both bushings and ball joints that I supplied them with and charged me $54.00 to install everything. The control arms will have to come out to do the work so I would suggest that you go ahead and replace the ball joints too. I decided to do the job myself because the labor on just replacing just the ball joints was going to be between $300 and $400 not including the parts. I spent $30.00 on 2 bushings and $70.00 on 2 ball joints plus the $54.00 having them installed. Good Luck NAPA Auto Parts and Advance Auto Parts sell these parts.