PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24 May 2009, 09:23 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Metro Charlotte, N.C. area
Posts: 24
Default Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

After the air conditoner has been ON for 20 minutes or more, the lines from the accumulator freeze up and the airflow from the ducts slows nearly to a nothing at all. No cold air either. Recently had the system vacuumed and reserviced with freon. Same condition after servicing.
Why would the lines be freezing ?
Is the expansion valve able to be changed or is there a assembly that contains it ?

Thanks.
__________________
'06 PT Touring
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 05:28 am
Hooligan's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,023
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

I'd take it back where you had it serviced and tell them what the problem is. They are the experts.
__________________

2008 Silver Steel Metallic, Touring, NA, Sirius; Chromed door handles; lower grille; fog light surrounds; chrome front & rear bumpers strips; Airaid air filter; Bassani duals; Modesty Cover; Autolite AP5263 Platinum Plugs (.040); Crane Plug Wires; NAPA Ceramic pads; Blane hood struts; PTeazer Gas, Brake & Foot Rest Pedals, '05 Rear Step Pad, Stainless Door Sills, Llumar tint, "A" Piller chrome; APC Strut Bar
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 06:24 am
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,743
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

The most probable cause for the system to freeze up is the High Pressure switch located on the accumulator next to the firewall. I had the same thing happen.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 01:34 pm
outfit's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sinton Texas
Posts: 221
Send a message via Yahoo to outfit Send a message via Skype™ to outfit
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

I have an 06 PT Touring and the same thing happen to me, i had a thread about it a couple of weeks ago, I had some other problems though, compressor to condensor hose had a leak, rad fan was out, well it was almost out, the fan could be stopped with your hand.. After all that was done I forgot to replace the part that Crewzin told me... I would take their advise... they got skills
__________________
<---- Just installed.
2006 PT Cruiser Touring Non-Turbo
3 -Hyper White Thin Flexible 5mm LED Dome Lights from Oznium Damn they make a dif in the inside ,let me tell you the best led lights you can buy
1 -Hyper White 921 Superstar Bulbs from Autolumination
1 -Hyper White T10 Wedge 194 (Lic Pllate) Super White LED from Autolumination

Pioneer Head unit W/ HD & Satellite radio

2 - 7inch DVD/Headrests Monitors... dvd players built in the headrests
HID Lights 8000k 9006 for lows from xhidoutlet....
HID Slim 55w 6000K for high's from HIDGEEK.


Last edited by outfit; 25 May 2009 at 01:37 pm. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 01:57 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Metro Charlotte, N.C. area
Posts: 24
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

Thank you for the responses.
I will go after the switch first. After revieiwng some of the schematics, etc., I wondered if the switch muight be the cause, but not exactly sure why.
When the HP switch cuts out, any cold flow in the lines is locked there and freezes ?

Thanks again. This switch is 'probably' the least expensive as well. I was going to start at the condensor - which like all components - is not cheap for a shotgun troubleshoot.
__________________
'06 PT Touring
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 02:06 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,743
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by calflan View Post
When the HP switch cuts out, any cold flow in the lines is locked there and freezes ?
From a search: A high pressure switch disconnects power to the compressor clutch if the pressure gets too high. This can happen if you have electric fans and they stop working or if the condenser is clogged with bugs or anything else you may have picked up while driving, such as a piece of newspaper or a plastic bag. Of course if any of these have happened you will have a high engine temperature too. You can bypass the high pressure switch just to see if it is faulty. If it is, then the clutch will engage when you turn the a/c on and you need to replace that switch. DO NOT try to fun the system without a working high pressure switch as this can lead to very expensive problems such as blown hoses and compressors.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 02:12 pm
outfit's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sinton Texas
Posts: 221
Send a message via Yahoo to outfit Send a message via Skype™ to outfit
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

I found the High Pressure Cut-Out Switch at O'reillys part # 20050 for $13.49... but if you find that you need expensive items, such as with chrysler dealer items, try rockauto.com very good deals
__________________
<---- Just installed.
2006 PT Cruiser Touring Non-Turbo
3 -Hyper White Thin Flexible 5mm LED Dome Lights from Oznium Damn they make a dif in the inside ,let me tell you the best led lights you can buy
1 -Hyper White 921 Superstar Bulbs from Autolumination
1 -Hyper White T10 Wedge 194 (Lic Pllate) Super White LED from Autolumination

Pioneer Head unit W/ HD & Satellite radio

2 - 7inch DVD/Headrests Monitors... dvd players built in the headrests
HID Lights 8000k 9006 for lows from xhidoutlet....
HID Slim 55w 6000K for high's from HIDGEEK.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 08:13 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 535
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

Most likely your problem is the clutch cycling switch which is on the accumulator. It's probably stuck closed which is allowing it to freeze up.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25 May 2009, 09:19 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,743
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by slartyblarfast View Post
Most likely your problem is the clutch cycling switch which is on the accumulator. It's probably stuck closed which is allowing it to freeze up.
I'm pretty sure that your "Clutch Cycling Switch" is the same as my "High Pressure Switch".
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26 May 2009, 02:24 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Metro Charlotte, N.C. area
Posts: 24
Default Re: Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??

Thanks guys. In changing the HP switch, I assume it is under pressure ? I will have to bleed off system pressure before replacing and reservice system ?
__________________
'06 PT Touring
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VAC lines rice_killing_GT Turbo Performance 11 05 Feb 2012 02:03 pm
Air Conditioner Impacting Engine ronnick9 General PT Cruiser Discussions 5 21 May 2009 10:07 pm
AC Lines freezing up... Is there a quick fix? outfit Tech & Performance Forum 14 20 Apr 2009 05:57 pm
Heat / AC distribution freeze up calflan Tech & Performance Forum 2 18 Feb 2009 08:04 pm
Electronic Portable Air Conditioner h.fork Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 1 29 Sep 2006 09:08 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors