PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
P0138 Fault

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Jul 2009, 08:53 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default P0138 Fault

Hi Guys,
I'm shiny new here so let me introduce myself. I was a Ford Auto trans tech for 27 years. Basically all of my adult life. Got hurt...don't twist wrenches anymore. I recently bought an '05 Touring Edition for my son. I bought it right, it was a repo and the company only wanted what was owed on it. So any repairs I've done I consider still a bargain.
It does have higher than normal mileage, but it's clean body and paint wise and the interior is like new.
Now, my son hasn't seen it yet as he is out of state, so instead of driving my Super Crew (10 mpg if I'm lucky) I've been cruising in the Cruiser. After I put about 400 miles on it, I was idling one morning and I got an amber check engine light. I have a scan tool and pulled a P0138 from the processor which apparently is an EGO (or might be HEGO) circuit malfunction. I cleared the code. And it remained. On Fords we call that a hard fault which is usually hardware. But a friend who was a driveability tech (Ford) said maybe I should try to force the clearing of the code by pulling the negative cable, jumper between the negative post and cable and hit any light or cause a draw of some type. I did and it went away.
Came back the next day, only it could not have been a hard fault because it turned itself off.

The only thing I can go by is Ford. So with Ford, the HEGO circuit had actual resistors on the processor's main board which would go out and would also constitute a hard fault. But I've not personally experienced a resistor healing itself.
Now, I said all that to say all this..I can say it did not exhibit any driveability concerns when the light was on. however, since I got it, it has had an issue with idling rough. Not with the A/C off, but with it on, it will begin to lope, then eventually shake like a dog...well you know. then die.