Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Camshaft Position Sensor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 Nov 2009, 10:33 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Camshaft Position Sensor

My girlfriend has an '01 PT. I've read that it's a very common problem on the '01s to have issues with the CMP sensor. I took the car to my local mechanic. I've been using him for a few years now and he's always helped me out with stuff. He did a diagnosis on the car and told me the coil is weak and that the 3rd spark plug is supplying a very weak spark. On my way home this morning from his shop, the car finally threw a light. (I've been waiting for it to do this because it's been sputtering badly.) I checked the code and it's P0340 which is the CMP sensor circuit. Correct me if I'm wrong, but if that goes out or acts up, the coil is going to act up as well. This in turn, leads me to believe that the $477.xx my mechanic wanted to do a full tuneup on the car is not needed. I'm fully capable of doing the tuneup myself so I wouldn't have paid him anyways to do that. I guess my main question is, should I throw the money at the CMP sensor or should I do the tuneup? I've read that there could be other reasons that the CMP sensor could act up, one possibly being the coil. Should I go by the code or by what my mechanic told me? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oh, by the way, this is my first post on this forum so hello to all.

Last edited by ejschultz; 17 Nov 2009 at 10:58 am.
Old 17 Nov 2009, 11:12 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Welcome.
Several thoughts - what would you get for $477 - what constitutes a "tune up"? Seems to me, plugs and wires.
For wires, good reports about Motorworks 10.2mm racing plug wires recently posted on eBay - do NOT use stock wires, they are crap.
Plugs, the stock Champions aren't bad - just gap at 0.040.