PT Cruiser Forum  

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Electrics/ switch problem - computer thinks a door is open

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Dec 2009, 04:07 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Electrics/ switch problem - computer thinks a door is open

I have had a problem on my 2001 classic PT cruiser since I bought it about a year ago.

just above the mileage reading it displays the word 'door' as if the door is constantly open.

How do I check the door switches to try to find out which door it thinks is open? is there a way to bypass the switch on the door so it tells the computer it is closed?

I am new to working on PTs, much more accustomed to old veedub bugs very simple wiring systems!

any pointers would be great.

thanks
Old 07 Dec 2009, 04:32 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Re: Electrics/ switch problem - computer thinks a door is open

If there is a switch,it will most likely be between the door and the body on the back side and it could be stuck.If so than just spray it with some WD 40,good luck.
Old 07 Dec 2009, 04:43 pm
Fresh Cruiser

i have seen the rear door switches both of these appear to be moving freely and not stuck, but I cannot lockate the front door switches, does anyone know where they are or how they are wired up?
Old 07 Dec 2009, 05:22 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

They aren't the old push-button switches, they're sensors. Unfortunately, that's all I know about them...
'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 08 Dec 2009, 02:25 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilverdon View Post