Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Starter Modifications

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22 Feb 2010, 01:40 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Starter Modifications

I have a 04 Touring and I am wanting to just get a little bit more bang for my buck. Currently everything under the hood is stock with a few minor exterior and interior changes such as adding lights under seat and console, front windows tinted to match the back ones, rims, that kind of stuff. I was looking into something with a little more speed but decided I like my cruiser and I plan on having a family soon so why not just tune it up a little. What are some basic modifications to get more power, acceleration, HP etc... I am very new to all this and need as much help as I can get. Any posts are welcome...
Old 22 Feb 2010, 02:32 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: Starter Modifications

Sorry, but the non turbo PT is and will always be just plain slow. It's a great cruiser and a great looker. You can throw buckets of money at it and it will remain slow. Been there, done that. The only way to make the non turbo PT have decent power is to turbo it, but that is expensive unless you have the skill and knowledge to do it yourself. Even then it isn't cheap and you'll have a lot of down time with your car. Enjoy what you have or trade it in on the more powerful PT GT. Lots of great power mods for the GT. Been there, done that.

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Old 22 Feb 2010, 05:02 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Mean Green has it right if your looking for the kind of "seat of your pants" thrill ride. The best things to do for the N/A PT is to keep it tuned up (get rid of the stock plugs and wires). A free flowing exhaust and air intake that only draws in cool air.