PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Newly purchased 2003 PT Cuiser Turbo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Jun 2010, 08:16 am
Fresh Cruiser

Send a message via Yahoo to ptbetty
Default Newly purchased 2003 PT Cuiser Turbo

I am a complete newbie to all of this..I am one of those women who runs to the dealership for everything but times are hard and they rip you off...so i'm trying to learn how to do a lot of things myself. Not that you have some background. I just purchased a 2003 PT Cruiser GT Turbo with 90,000 miles on it about 2 weeks ago. As I have been driving I have noticed a couple of issues that I need to have addressed and would like some advice on where to get started. The first thing I noticed was how loud the Turbo was. I am told that could be fairly normal but it just seems odd that it should almost drown out the radio. Also, I have rough idle with a/c on. I read in another post about some different options to look at to fix that one. I took it to Goodyear to get a diagnostic and they told me brakes and wheel bearings need replacing. Is this something I can do myself with the right tools. The last thing is should i invest in a Tune up right now just to be sure all is in working order? Any maintenance advice is appreciated!!! lol thanx
Old 14 Jun 2010, 08:45 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Newly purchased 2003 PT Cuiser Turbo

Welcome Betty to the Forum!!!
I know nothing about turbos, but someone here will know.
Not to knock Goodyear, but I know from experience that they will ALWAYS find something to repair on any car. That said, wheel bearings are some thing I wouldn't try myself and I have many years working on cars. Brakes: front or back? Fronts can be tricky but if you are a little mechanical it can be done by you. The rear shoes or pads as well. I would suggest using ceramic pads as they provide less dust.