Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
My PT Cruiser<~~~DRAMA QUEEN!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Jul 2010, 02:56 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Unhappy My PT Cruiser<~~~DRAMA QUEEN!

I'm a Newbie and have zero knowledge about the mechanical mysteries of cars. It's like Algebra-I just don't get "it".

I bought an 08 PT Cruiser in September of 08 from a dealership and have been sailing along just fine until the Spring of this year.

I was in the emissions line to have my car go through the process for the tag renewal requirement.

Sat in line in idle for about 15 minutes and as soon as I was about to drive into the hub of the emissions testing facility, my car made a loud *pop* sound, spit fluid all over the ground, and a white smoke diligently shot its way out of the engine hoods seams.

The emissions testing staff didn't want anything to do with my car at that point and suggested that I might have a "cracked radiator"...which made me almost throw up just a little bit in my mouth.

A very nice local mechanic approached me and advised that I drive the car over to the shaded area of the parking lot and let the car cool down.

Since that time I have been told that the cars 4th cylinder has 70lbs of compression. I have also been told that there may be a cracked head, a head gasket issue, a bent valve, or a warped head. Also I've been told that the top half of the engine would have to be removed in order to properly diagnose the issue.

At 56,400 miles, is this normal for an issue of this magnitude?

It was suggested to me to take the car to DC Service Center and request Goodwill Assistance for the repair considering the low mileage. However, when I spoke to DC Customer Service, I was informed that Case Management has a criteria by which they determine to assist a customer and the Rep was unable to identify what the criteria was...i.e. "Mystery Criteria".