Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Hydraulic Clutch Problem?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22 Jul 2010, 02:57 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Cool Hydraulic Clutch Problem?

I have a 2005 PT with a manual transmission and about 85K miles. I am new to PTs having bought this one about 5 months ago, most of my previous cars have been Hondas.

About two weeks ago when setting off in the morning my PT would not let me shift into gear. After following the recommended diagnostics, checking fluid levels etc, I came to the conclusion that the slave cylinder was probably bad, and purchased a replacement part.

The master and slave cylinders are replaced as a single assembly, but despite what the service manual said, and online research confirmed, they do NOT come pre-filled and do not come with a new reservoir either. On my 2005 the master cylinder connects to the brake reservoir instead of having its own. I think that change was made for the 2006 model year, but must have been a mid-year change on mine.

The new assembly was very difficult to fill with fluid, and extremely difficult to bleed following the service manual procedures. It turns out that you have to use the 2006/2007 procedures which describe how to open the bleed port by releasing a clip and extending the tube. After finally bleeding it correctly I was able to shift correctly and all was well for about 24 hours.

After sitting in my work parking lot all day when I went to go home it refused to shift again. No amount of peddle actuation or even fully bleeding it again would make it shift.

I brought it to a mechanic and he suspected that the new assembly must be bad, so I purchased a new one and had him install it. The new part acts little better than the one before it, and the clutch will still not disengage.

My mechanic is now telling me that he thinks the clutch needs replacing, which of course is very expensive.