PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Interference motor?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Aug 2010, 11:22 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Interference motor?

Hey, all...
Just got my daughter a 2002 PT cruser touring in dark grey, (not sure of the official name), but just 77,000 miles, and a new auto transmission!
It's banged up a little on the body, the bumpers are really faded, but the interior is near perfect and it runs alot stronger on top(over 4000 rpm) than the 2007 we drove, (typical??) so my 16 year old is pretty happy!
Im a mechanic, and I have learned alot about these cars using searches on this sight (thanks to all!), to help me with repairs, but one fact has eluded me...are these interference engines?
Im gonna replace the timing belt at my first opportunity, but I feel this fact is good to know...
It also has the pull to the left under full throttle, but the tires are worn unevenly, and I have yet to inspect the suspension.
It does feel very solid on the road, much better than my tinny 2001 Saturn SL-2, so I think there is some potential here...
BTW, are cold-air boxes just added noise on these cars, rather than an HP upgrade, and has anyone ported thier throttle body?
Chris
Old 21 Aug 2010, 01:48 am
Regular Cruiser

Default Re: Interference motor?

The engine is not an Interference engine...however since it is a dual cam the valves could contact each other and bend or break...does not seem to happen often, but a few owners have reported it happening.
Old 21 Aug 2010, 07:13 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Chris,