Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2004 base model Crusier won't start

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Oct 2010, 08:54 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default 2004 base model Crusier won't start

Hi all, i'm new to the forum. Although I don't own a PT Cruiser, my neighbor does and he's having a problem with it not starting up and asked if I could help him diagnose it, as he doesn't know much about mechanics. I'm no expert myself, but I can follow tutorials and do alot of my own work on my vehicles.

He told me that he was driving on the freeway around 60 - 70mph and the engine just died. He coasted about 1/8 mile to a safe spot to stop and said the engine would turn over fine, but just wouldn't start up. The car was towed to a mechanic who told him that more than likely the timing belt broke.

He didn't get the belt changed, (doesn't have the money to fix it) just had it towed home and has been sitting in the driveway for about 2 months now.

My question is, how can I check to see if it's the timing belt without having to pull the cover off to see. Do you guys have any idea on things to look for or check?
Old 23 Oct 2010, 10:49 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: 2004 base model Crusier won't start

Welcome to the forum.

You can do a couple things. Check the computer for fault codes. Follow the instructions here:

How to retrieve fault codes.

If you do it right, and codes such as P0340 come up, there' two possibilities. The Camshaft sensor is bad or the timing belt broke. When the belt breaks the Camshaft and Crankshaft sensors stop seeing the the engine turn and sends a signal to the computer.