Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
HELP!! It won't start!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Jan 2011, 04:03 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default HELP!! It won't start!

Hey everyone. This is my first post. I used to be a member of PTCC when they were still around and this is the first time I've gone back to a PT Cruiser forum.

I was having trouble with my battery. If the car sat for more then a day it would not start without a jump. A couple days ago, it wouldn't start even with a jump, so I bit the bullet and replaced the battery (I just got a job after being unemployed for 2 years, so every penny counts.)

The car will crank and sputter from time to time, but won't start. The new battery is strong and has no problem cranking. I'm a computer programmer, not a mechanic. However, I'm mechanically inclined, so the inside of an engine bay doesn't scare me.

Any ideas why it won't start after a battery replacement? Or is the replacement just a coincidence? It ran perfectly up until I parked it that night. No sputtering or cutting out.

*EDIT*

A mechanic fried of my Dad's came over and took a look. He thinks the timing belt may have gone. Which is very bad. I know it should have been changed at 60,000 miles, but like I said, I was not working, so I couldn't afford to change it. Looks like it's going to be down a while.

Thanks to anyone who can help. I hope I can revive it without taking it to a mechanic. I really don't have the money.

-Ray

Vitals:
2006 PT Cruiser (base model)
70,000 miles
Automatic 2.4L NA (no turbo)

Last edited by lcarsx32; 23 Jan 2011 at 04:32 pm.
Old 23 Jan 2011, 05:34 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: HELP!! It won't start!

Welcome to the Forum. It is possible the timing belt broke, but most change at 100,000 miles not 60,000. Did you do the key dance to see IF the computer throws a code? Let us know.