PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Throttle position sensor

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21 Mar 2011, 10:04 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default Throttle position sensor

What's the easiest way to replace the Tps? It's in a somewhat difficult location on the back of the throttle body. Does it have torque screws holding it in place? Difficult to tell.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21 Mar 2011, 10:24 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,744
Default Re: Throttle position sensor

First you need to take off the electrical connection to the TPS. You have to squeeze the locking tab and pull off the connection. The TPS itself is held on by two Torx (not torque) screws. Have a Torx set handy and you'll need one of the smaller (#15 maybe) to undo the screws.

Won't ask how you know you need a new one so hope you picked the right part. The IAC is next to the TPS and there's way more owners that have cleaned and/or replaced that rather than the TPS for on-going problems.

Welcome to the forum. Be nice if you introduced yourself rather than just jump in and ask a question.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.

Last edited by CREWZIN; 21 Mar 2011 at 10:29 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22 Mar 2011, 08:44 am
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: south of Tampa, Florida
Posts: 3,037
Default Re: Throttle position sensor

I'm with Crewzin. Why do you think you need to do this?

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22 Mar 2011, 12:17 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Throttle position sensor

Hi guys. Didnt mean to be rude by just jumping in and asking a question. I'm new to the forum and just starting to get involved in upgrading my 2006 pt cruiser. I installed a airaid cold air intake system this week and noticed the TPS had a large crack in the plastic (no idea how). Not causing me any problems but I figured I shouldnt wait till it did. Thanks for the info Crewzin. I was able to change it out last night with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23 Mar 2011, 12:09 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 543
Default Re: Throttle position sensor

There have been lots of problems with the TPS. Have seen this in the GT and Dodge SRT-4 world. Harness has been the main culprit. A broken wire in the harness will cause the idle to shoot up and stay for a while. Can be very embarassing when you come to a stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crankshaft position sensor ab33arch Tech & Performance Forum 23 31 Mar 2017 04:13 pm
Camshaft Position Sensor kghaddon Tech & Performance Forum 5 02 Jun 2009 10:09 am
Cam Shaft Position Sensor Johns Steel Blue Tech & Performance Forum 9 15 Apr 2008 07:38 pm
Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) readings Bman05Ltd Tech & Performance Forum 5 29 Aug 2007 06:59 am
cam position sensor 4SPEED Tech & Performance Forum 1 25 Sep 2006 04:16 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors