Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Cooling Fan, FYI I'm a newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Mar 2011, 07:31 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Cooling Fan, FYI I'm a newbie

I have been viewing this site for quite a while for advice and ideas. I changed my spark plugs/wires and diagnosed my AC problems using this site. I've done some searching, but still cannot find an answer to my question.

First off, I own a 2003 non-turbo Limited PT Cruiser. I've owned it for almost 3 years and am a little more educated on PTs thanks to this site.

This week I purchased a 2003 turbo Dream Cruiser from a small used car dealership. Now I have 2 cruisers !

When I test drove the dream cruiser the check engine light came on. The dealer hooked the car up to their scanner and determined the problem was an O2 sensor. They fixed that.

As I was driving my dreamcruiser home from the lot the check engine light came on again . I did the "3 time key dance." The cruiser said "P0480," Cooling Fan Relay 1 Control Circuit. I took the dream cruiser back to the dealer the next morning and they took it to a mechanic. They tried changing out the entire cooling fan and the relay, but that still did not fix it.

Right now they have an entire new computer on order. They say that will fix it. I'm not a mechanic, but I do like to wrench on cars and have a little bit of sense. That does not sound right to me to replace the computer... Is that right? The dealer is paying for it all so I'm not to concerned right now.

I do know of the cooling fan issues with PTs thanks to this site. I still need to replace the cooling fan on my nonturbo PT, but its winter and I've been putting it off. The low speed works on my nonturbo fan. The AC only works on the highway and the engine temp is always fine so I'm waiting till it gets a little warmer before I worry about it.