Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
the dreaded p0344 code

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02 Apr 2011, 05:09 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default the dreaded p0344 code

hi, newbie here, so first of all a quick thanks to everyone here for the wealth of info contained in the forum.
Right, down to buisness.....driving along, the check engine light came on and car became very sluggish, it wouldn't rev above 2500 rpm.
Anyway, looked through the forum, found out how to get the error codes, and it come back with p0344, another look through here and found it was camshaft position sensor.
I fiddled about with the plug and wires, started car again, and now it is fully free revving as normal, but the check engine light is still on.
My questions are...is it possible it could be a loose/ bad connection on the plug, if it was, should the check engine light go out on it's own or does it need resetting after a fault has been fixed, or was it a fluke that it revs ok now and the problem is still there.
I thought i read somewhere that the engine light needs resetting after a fault, but cant find it again.
sorry if this is a bit long winded, and i appreciate any help on my questions, i dont really want to spend 60 on a sensor if it turns out to be a bad connection.
Thanks
Old 02 Apr 2011, 06:26 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: the dreaded p0344 code

You can clear the code yourself. Just take off the negative battery cable for about 5 minutes, That clears the computer memory of the fault code and takes away the engine light.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Old 02 Apr 2011, 06:58 am
Fresh Cruiser

thats great, so do you think it might of been a bad / loose connection. has anyone else experienced that before,