Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Cam and Crank position faults

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Apr 2011, 09:46 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Cam and Crank position faults

We just picked up a 2005 PT with the non-turbo 2.4L engine and the very next day (I kid you not) the thing starts stumbling and the check engine light comes on.
There were multiple codes, but the two that stood out are left bank cam position and crankshaft position sensors.
I find it hard to believe that two sensors failed on the same day like that unless there is a commonality that killed them both.
Is there anything I should check first in the wiring that might cause this or some other thing that could affect them both? If I end up replacing them both, is there anything I should look at while I'm in there?
Thank you.
Disclaimer: I'm a complete newb to PT Cruisers, but not to wrench turning in general.
Old 13 Apr 2011, 10:56 am
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: Cam and Crank position faults

Quote:
Originally Posted by mid_life_crisis View Post
We just picked up a 2005 PT with the non-turbo 2.4L engine and the very next day (I kid you not) the thing starts stumbling and the check engine light comes on.
There were multiple codes, but the two that stood out are left bank cam position and crankshaft position sensors.
I find it hard to believe that two sensors failed on the same day like that unless there is a commonality that killed them both.
Is there anything I should check first in the wiring that might cause this or some other thing that could affect them both? If I end up replacing them both, is there anything I should look at while I'm in there?
Thank you.
Disclaimer: I'm a complete newb to PT Cruisers, but not to wrench turning in general.

The sensors are cheap and easy to change, just use Chrysler parts with the sensors. Start with the cam sensor it's pretty much a 10 minute job.

HOW TO's