Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Performance upgrades

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 May 2011, 12:00 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Performance upgrades

Just purchased a 2002 with a 2.4,(non turbo) man. 5speed. Whats the best bang for the buck upgrades out there? I'm new to all this so any help is appreciated!
Thanks!
Old 17 May 2011, 12:17 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Performance upgrades

Welcome.
Intake -
K&N Air filter is about $45. for 2 or 3 (or more) times that you can get a replacement air intake system

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 17 May 2011, 12:33 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilverdon View Post
Welcome.
Intake -
K&N Air filter is about $45. for 2 or 3 (or more) times that you can get a replacement air intake system
Thank you sir! Do you happen to know the HP gains of each system?
Old 17 May 2011, 01:35 pm
Young Cruiser

The K&N last time I checked was looking at 5-10 HP again last time I checked for my 2001 5speed. It might be different but it isn't much. I did see an Airaid system that was WAY cheaper that did about the same. It's on Amazon and it looks to be about 180$ or so and the K&N (Again last I checked) was about 300 or so min. You could possibly get a tune as well but I'm not familiar with it any way so you'd want to check around pretty hard and educate yourself on the process before going through but either way should be a pretty big bang for your buck. K&N also sells oil filters and things but I generally use FRAM or Bosch filters with no real loyalty to any one synth brand oil.