Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
shifting problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Jun 2011, 12:23 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default shifting problems

I have a 06 pt cruiser with a 5 speed mannual transmission & when it is over 80 degrees outside it doesn't want to go into first or second gear when in traffic without force. In cooler weather there is no problem and it shifts very easy. Does anyone have an answer to this problem or have the same issues? Thanks...very frustrated!
Old 11 Jun 2011, 09:32 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Re: shifting problems

I'm no expert, but have been going through similar clutch problems on my '02. It has 174k on it, and has been a great car until recently with this clutch problem. At first it was intermittent. This was in the fall. It seemed to happen only after driving for a while. Maybe it was because of heat. I took it to the dealer, who said they replaced some seals. I got it home, and fluid leaked everywhere, and it was as bad as ever. Took it back, and they couldn't get it to misbehave. Said it was fine. Finally I drove there while it was malfunctioning. They replaced the slave cylinder. It worked fine for a while, and then completely gave out one day. Got it towed back to the dealer, and they fixed it for free this time. It worked fine until warmer weather hit recently. Started with the same problem. Having lost faith in the dealer, I took it to a different shop, who couldn't get it to malfunction. So I went to pick it up, and it was barely drive-able on the way home. I had to really force it into gear, and don't know how they couldn't have experienced the problem. So I took it to a third shop, this time a transmission place. They replaced the clutch. It worked fine for about a week. Now, it won't shift into 2nd or 4th. Can't anybody do decent work, and fix one of these things? It's the weekend, and I'm going to take it back to the last shop on Monday morn