PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Tech & Performance Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Timing belt went out, how can I check the valves?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10 Nov 2011, 05:55 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Timing belt went out, how can I check the valves?

Ok, for starters, I am no great mechanic, but here is the situation at the moment.

My girlfriends 2006 PT took a dump last night on the freeway where she was able to coast from the fast lane to the shoulder and get towed. Not being there myself, and given the 15 min I had to look at it in the dark I am not completely sure what went wrong. However she was able to get it to a mechanic today that is a friend of the family that offered to take a look at it. He is saying it is most likely the timing belt (as is what I have come to believe after spending most of the day reading about it). The PT has about 100k on it and she has never changed belts... anywhere . So after finding that out I am sold on it being the timing belt.

He (mechanic friend) is saying that he can do the work for $250 after parts and covering 2 of 4 hours of labor. (never met this guy, he must be really good ) However, beggers cant be choosers and I don't have the time to fight with it for 2-3 days.

He is hoping that the valves/pistons are ok and is just going to go in, replace the belt and get out. My question: is there a quick simple way to check for further damage to see if it is even worth it? (and I do have a borescope available to me, just never dealth with this kind of thing before) Thanks!
Old 10 Nov 2011, 06:21 pm
Cool Cruiser

Default Re: Timing belt went out, how can I check the valves?

The easiest way I know of, is to pull the valve cover, and rotate the cams. Look for valve stems that are "stuck".

He's probably a little light on the 4 hour estimate - Plus, you should be replacing the water pump while he's in there.